Women's Water Polo Lands 10 on ACWPC All-Academic List

Women's Water Polo Lands 10 on ACWPC All-Academic List

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announced its 2019 Women's All-Academic Awards earlier this week. Ten members of the Harvard women's water polo team earned recognition for their academic accomplishments.

Over 600 student-athletes earned ACWPC Scholar-Athlete honors. Nominations were submitted by head coaches with team members being recognized in three categories: Outstanding (4.0-3.71 GPA), Superior (3.7-3.41 GPA) and Excellent (3.4-3.2 GPA). The women's team, led by Friends of Harvard Water Polo Head Coach Ted Minnis, has earned 97 ACWPC distinctions during his eight seasons with the Crimson. 

The trio of Lana GorlinskiMathilde Ribordy and Olivia Price took home Outstanding honors. This recognition was the second straight for Ribordy, having earned Outstanding Honors last season. Gorlinski had earned Superior Honors last season. 

Student-athletes receiving Superior recognition were: Angelica Varona, Evan Tingler, Indie Halligan, Kristin Hong, Remedy Ryan, Sam Acker and Sofia Carrera-Justiz, rounding out the Harvard selections.  This was Acker's, Hong's, Ryan's and Varona's second straight season earning Superior recognition. Carrera-Justiz earned Excellent Honors last season as well. 

In addition to earning 10 ACWPC All-Academic distinctions, the Crimson also posted a cumulative team GPA of 3.46, ninth highest in the country.