Former Assistant Coach Ellen Estes Lee Set for Induction into USA Water Polo Hall of Fame

Former Assistant Coach Ellen Estes Lee Set for Induction into USA Water Polo Hall of Fame

Story courtesy the Collegiate Water Polo Association (David Silverman).

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Former Harvard University assistant coach Ellen Estes Lee will be inducted in the USA Water Polo Hall of Fame on Saturday, July 7, at the InterContinental Century City in Los Angeles, Calif. 

This year the induction will be in conjunction with a special send-off for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Water Polo Teams as they prepare for the 2012 Olympic Games in London, England. The evening will be hosted by Brooke Anderson and Kevin Frazier, co-hosts of CBS' The Insider. An after-party will be hosted by actress Jenny McCarthy and former NFL star and ESPN on-air personality Marcellus Wiley will also deliver an address.

Part of a special era of women's water polo in the United States, Estes Lee broke on to the scene in the late 90's as a member of the Women's National Team and a star for the Stanford University women's water polo team. Estes started in the sport at the Marin Water Polo club and followed as a two-sport star at Novato High School. She then parlayed that into a career at Stanford that saw Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) Player of the Year honors and a National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Championship in 2002. In the meantime she played a key role on the Women's National Team as they ventured into uncharted territory, the Olympic Games. Estes earned Silver at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia, the first to offer women's water polo, and followed that with Bronze at the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, Greece. She remains involved in the game today, recently as an Assistant Coach with Harvard University from 2007-09, serving on the Board of Directors for USA Water Polo and acting as the National Governing Bodies' athlete representative on the US Olympic Committee Athlete Advisory Council. 

Inductees were chosen through a process that included open nominations by their peers, evaluation of their candidacy by the USA Water Polo Hall of Fame Committee, and final ratification of the committee's recommendations by the USA Water Polo Board of Directors.  The Committee is co-chaired by Brent Bohlender and Chris Dorst, and includes Jody Campbell, Dion Gray, Maggie Kelly, Charles Schroeder and Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Hall of Fame member Scott Schulte.