Women's Water Polo Receives At-Large Berth to Eastern Championships

Women's Water Polo Receives At-Large Berth to Eastern Championships

TUCSON, Ariz. - The 2010 Eastern Championship field is now set as the seeding committee has announced the eight teams which will battle for the Collegiate Water Polo Association's varsity championship at the University of Maryland's Eppley Recreation Center on April 30-May 2.  The victor of the tournament will receive the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship at San Diego State University.

The Harvard women's water polo team earned one of two at-large berths to the Eastern Championships, to be held April 30-May 2. The Crimson will face Michigan, the top-seeded team in the tournament, in the opening match. Harvard, which finished the 2010 season with a 12-12 record and a 1-3 mark in the Northern Division, is the No. 8 seed in the field. The Wolverines wrapped up the season with a 28-6 overall record and went 5-0 in the Western Division to claim its ninth consecutive Western Division crown. Michigan will be looking to capture its third-straight Eastern Division title.

Each squad is guaranteed three games over the three days. A second round of games will be played Saturday, May 1 and the placement round will take play Sunday, May 2.

The Eastern Championship field is selected by a panel of coaches which examined the entirety of the season's results to determine the strength of teams at the conclusion of the season.  The Northern, Southern and Western Division champions and runner-up finishers earned automatic bids to the field, while two teams earn spots based as at-large selections.

A complete tournament schedule and ticket information are availabe on the 2010 Eastern Championship site.

2010 Eastern Championship Field
1. No. 7 Michigan
2. No. 10 Hartwick
3. No. 15 Indiana
4. Bucknell
5. No. 19 Princeton
6. Brown
7. Maryland
8. Harvard