Women's Swimming and Diving Announces Award Winners at Annual Banquet

The Harvard women's swimming and diving team announced its award winners during its end-of-the-season banquet at the Harvard Club of Boston April 6. Sara Li and Brittany Powell headlined the list of winners by taking home the Sharon Beckman Award, presented to the Crimson's most outstanding swimmer, and the John Walker Award, for the best Harvard diver, respectively.

The Crimson celebrated another outstanding season in which it went 7-0 in Ivy League dual meets, set 10 new program records, qualified two student-athletes for the NCAA meet and boasted five Academic All-Americans in the fall. For its efforts in the pool, Harvard was named the Mid-Major Champions for the fifth time in the last 11 years.

Harvard also celebrated its senior class during the banquet. "This group of women were part of the 2012 Ivy Championship team and are leaving Harvard as 14-0 in Ivy dual meets during the last two years," said Stephanie Wriede Morawski, The Costin Family Head Coach for Harvard Women's Swimming and Diving. "They have compiled individual and relay ECAC wins, Ivy Championship wins and a few team records. The Class of 2013 has helped to build this program up to the level it is today."

Award Winners
Alice McCabe Award - Honoring the most improved team member whose performances in all areas reminds us of the ideals set forth by Coach Alice McCabe.
Ellie Johnson

Spirit Award - Honoring the team member whose contributions to the program in spirit, energy and enthusiasm most emulate that of Coach Maura Costin Scalise '80.
Taylor Foster

Nancy Sato Award - Honoring the senior whose action and attitudes over the years reflect a strong commitment to the improvement of Harvard Swimming as demonstrated by Nancy Sato '75.
Clare Foster

Dr. Mary Ellen Mangano Award - "Unsung Heroine" -- Awarded to the person whose dedication, hard work and overall pursuit of excellence emulates those of the late Dr. Mangano '80.
Stephanie Ferrell

Coach's Award - Honoring the member of the team whose all-around attitude and contributions stand out to the coaching staff.
Kyle Krueger

Outstanding Freshman Award - Honoring the freshman whose outstanding talent and contribution to the team throughout the season perseveres, so that she may reach her goals and has helped the team surpass theirs.
Danielle Lee and Kendall Crawford

John Walker Award - Honoring the outstanding diver whose contributions to the Harvard program in attitude, dedication and performance are modeled after those of Coach John Walker.
Brittany Powell

Sharon Beckman Award - Honoring the swimmer whose outstanding performance, dedication, qualities of leadership and promotion of Harvard Swimming emulates co-captain Sharon Beckman '80.
Sara Li