Foster, Li and Powell Named Women's Swimming and Diving Captains for 2012-13

Foster, Li and Powell Named Women's Swimming and Diving Captains for 2012-13

Foster, Li and Powell have been voted as team captains for the 2012-13 season.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard women’s swimming and diving team held its annual awards banquet on April 14 where it announced its captains for the 2012-13 season and honored its major award winners from this past year.

For the first time since 2000-01, the Crimson will be led by a trio of captains as Clare Foster, Sara Li and Brittany Powell have been voted by their peers to guide the team next season. Foster and Powell are entering their senior years at Harvard and have been integral to the program’s recent success. Foster won the 200 IM and placed second in the 100 breast at this year’s ECAC Championships, helping Harvard to a second-place finish. Powell, meanwhile, competed on the one-meter diving board as the Crimson captured its 10th Ivy League Championship.

Li, a rising junior, is a three-time All-Ivy honoree and the first underclassmen to be voted captain since Alexandra Clarke ’10 in 2008-09. Li has been a member the winning 800 free relay teams at Ivies the last two years and took second in the 200 free relay a year ago.

Sophomore Deirdre Clute and Foster were honored with the Alice McCabe Award, honoring the most improved team member(s) whose performances in all areas reminds people of the ideals set forth by former coach Alice McCabe. Clute competed at the ECAC Championships last year as a freshman before taking fourth in both the 100 and 200 back this season and eclipsing the NCAA ‘B’ standard in the 200.

The Maura Costin Scalise Spirit Award, honoring the team member whose contributions to the program in spirit, energy and enthusiasm most emulate that of former coach Maura Costin Scalise ’80, went to Powell.

Senior Kristi Korsberg was presented the Nancy Sato Award, given to the senior whose action and attitude over the years reflect a strong commitment to the improvement of Harvard swimming and diving as demonstrated by Nancy Sato ’75. Despite battling through injuries over the years, Korsberg served as a co-captain this past season and was a member of the winning 400 free relay team and took second in the 800 free relay at ECAC’s.

Senior Catherine Zagroba was bestowed the Dr. Mary Ellen Mangano Award, given to the person whose dedication, hard work and overall pursuit of excellence emulates those those of the late Dr. Mangano’80, also known as the “Unsung Heroine.” Zagroba was a member of the winning 800 free relay team at Ivies and also placed fifth in the 200 free, fifth in the 500 free and seventh in the 1,650 free. She will graduate as a school record holder in the 800 free relay, an Academic All-American and an Academic All-Ivy selection.

The Coach’s Award, honoring the member(s) of the team whose all-around attitude and contributions stand out to the coaching staff, was presented to seniors Victoria Pratt and Hilary Roberts. A co-captain this season, Pratt posted several personal best times and finished second in the 800 free relay, sixth in the 200 IM and 10th in the 200 breast at ECAC’s. Roberts, meanwhile, scored key points for the Crimson at Ivies with a fourth-place finish in the 200 fly, a fifth-place finish in the 400 IM and a 12-place showing in the 200 IM.

Courtney Otto, who earned four All-Ivy honors this year, was presented the Outstanding Freshman Award given to the freshman whose outstanding talent and contribution to the team throughout the season perseveres, so that she may reach her goals and held the team surpass its. Otto won both the 400 IM and the 800 free relay in her first appearance at Ivies, while placing second in the 500 free and 200 fly. She also qualified for the NCAA Championships, where she placed 24th in the 200 fly, 30th in the 400 IM and 54th in the 500 free.

Senior Leslie Rea was given the John Walker Award, honoring the outstanding diver whose contributions to the Harvard program in attitude, dedication and performance are modeled after those of former diving coach John Walker. Rea earned the Ivy League’s Career High Point Diver Award after four years of consistently reaching the finals. This season, she also earned her first All-Ivy recognition with a second-place performance on the three meter.

The Sharon Beckman Award, given to the swimmer whose outstanding performances, dedication, qualities of leadership and promotion of Harvard swimming emulates former co-captain Sharon Beckman ’80, went to senior Meghan Leddy who capped her career off at the NCAA Championships competing in the 100 and 200 back. Leddy also won her third 200 back title at Ivies this season while placing third in the 100 back and fifth in the 200 IM, and will graduate as the school record holder in both the 100 and 200 back.