Men’s and Women’s Squash Send 11 to National Play Beginning Friday

Men’s and Women’s Squash Send 11 to National Play Beginning Friday

PROVIDENCE, R.I.– Eleven members of the Harvard men's and women's squash programs will compete in the 2019 Collegiate Squash Association's (CSA) Individual Championship hosted at the Nicol Squash Club at Moses Brown School in Providence beginning Friday, with the championship matches on Sunday. The women will send six members, including four in the Ramsay Cup: A Division, while the men will send five players, four in the Pool Trophy: A Division.

How to Follow:


Live Stream

Live Scoring

Twitter - @HarvardSquash

Instagram - @HarvardSquash

Women's Matchups:

Ramsay Cup: A Division

Helen Teegan (Yale) vs. No. 1 Sabrina Sobhy

Salma T. Alam Eldin (Trinity) vs. No. 3 Gina Kennedy

Madlen S. O'Connor (Columbia) vs. No. 6 Amelia Henley

Lucy Beecroft (Yale) vs. No. 10 Kayley Leonard

Holleran Cup: B Division East

Margaret Davey (Conn. College) vs. Eleonore Evans

Holleran Cup B Division West: 

Lilly L Soroko (Amherst) vs. Sophie Mehta

Men's Matchups:

Pool Trophy: A Division

Matias Knudsen (Drexel) vs. No. 2 Victor Crouin 

Mohamed El Gawarhy (St. Lawrence) vs. No. 7 Marwan Tarek 

Aly Abou El Einen (Penn) vs. No. 10 Timothy Brownell 

Ashley Davis (Rochester) vs. No. 16 Samuel Scherl

Molloy Cup: B Division East

Robin Singh Mann (Columbia) vs. Julien Gosset

What to Know:

  • The men's team comes into Individual Nationals two weeks removed from defeating Trinity, 9-0, in the title match at the Team National Championships. 
  • The women's team also bested Trinity, 9-0, in the team's National Championship game last Sunday.
  • All six women's players come into the season undefeated after finishing each of matches by a 9-0 margin this season.
  • First-year Marwan Tarek comes into Individual Nationals leading the way with 14 wins, while Timothy Brownell follows with 12.
  • Junior Gina Kennedy will look to advance to her third-consecutive National Championship match. 
  • Last year, David Ryan captured the men's squash national title last season for the men's program.