No. 1 Women’s Squash Leads League with Four All-Ivy Selections

No. 1 Women’s Squash Leads League with Four All-Ivy Selections

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Four members of the 2018 national-champion Harvard women's squash program received a First-Team All-Ivy distinction this afternoon. Gina Kennedy, Kayley Leonard, Alyssa Mehta, and Sabrina Sobhy garnered the award following the Crimson's undefeated season (15-0, 7-0 Ivy League). Harvard's four honorees are the most of any Ivy League school.

The Gregory Lee '87 and Russell Ball '88 Endowed Coach for Squash at Harvard University, Mike Way was named Ivy League Co-Coach of the Year. The Crimson captured its fourth consecutive Howe Cup and third-straight Ancient Eight crown this season. Way also guided Harvard to its 53rd consecutive team victory. Harvard's coach shared the honor with Princeton's Gail Ramsay. Ramsay led the Tigers to 16-1, 6-1 Ivy League season and a third-place finish at the Howe Cup.

Kennedy, Leonard, and Sobhy were each unanimously selected by the Ivy League coaches. This is Sobhy's third unanimous selection to the team and second for Leonard and Kennedy. Kennedy and Sobhy each played seven matches at No. 1. Sobhy ended the year with a 10-2 record, while Kennedy went 15-0. Leonard also went a perfect 15-for-15, playing six matches at spots one or two and nine at No. 3.

This is the second All-Ivy accolade for Mehta. The co-captain went 14-0 this season. The senior from Toronto competed largely at No. 4, but also contested three matches at No. 3. Mehta was nearly flawless this year, winning all but three individual games (42-3) across 14 matches.

Penn's Reeham Sedky Salah was named Ivy League Player of the Year. Princeton's Raneem El Torky was tabbed Rookie of the Year. Salah was joined by teammate Melissa Alves on the All-Ivy team. Tanvi Khanna (Columbia), Olivia Fiechter (Princeton), and Lucy Beecroft (Yale) were the lone selections from their schools. Fiechter was the only non-Harvard player to be a unanimous choice.

Crimson student-athletes and their Ivy League counterparts will compete at the Collegiate Squash Association's Individual Championships hosted by George Washington from Friday, March 2 through Sunday, March 4.

Reeham Sedky Salah, Penn (Jr. – Sammamish, Wash.)

Raneem El Torky, Princeton (Fr. – Alexandria, Egypt) 

Mike Way, Harvard

Gail Ramsay, Princeton

Tanvi Khanna, Columbia (Sr. – New Delhi, India)
Michelle Garceau, Cornell (Sr. – Surrey, B.C., Canada)
* Sabrina Sobhy, Harvard (Jr. – Sea Cliff, N.Y.)
* Gina Kennedy, Harvard (So. – Beckenham, United Kingdom)
* Kayley Leonard, Harvard (Jr. – Harrison, N.Y.)
Alyssa Mehta, Harvard (Toronto, Ont., Canada)
Reeham Sedky Salah, Penn (Jr. – Sammamish, Wash.) 
Melissa Alves, Penn (Sr. – Kourou, French Guiana) 
* Olivia Fiechter, Princeton (Sr. – Chesnut Hill, Pa.) 
Lucy Beecroft, Yale (So. – Newcastle, England) 

* Unanimous Selection