No. 1 Women’s Squash Dominates No. 2 Penn, 7-2, for Third-Straight Howe Cup

The Crimson earned its fifth national championship in the last six years, including three straight, with the victory over No. 2 Penn (Harvard Athletic Communications).

– The No. 1 Harvard women's squash team finished the season a perfect 14-0 as it defeated No. 2 Penn, 7-2, in the Howe Cup final Sunday afternoon for its third-straight national championship. The Crimson won the opening five matches, securing the title early against the Quakers.

Harvard (15-0, 7-0 Ivy) finished perfect for the second-straight season en route to the 17th national championship in program history with the win over second-ranked Penn (13-2, 6-1 Ivy). The Crimson has won 38 consecutive matches since a loss to the Quakers on Jan. 11, 2015.

After the first wave of the matches in the Howe Cup final, the Crimson jumped out to a 3-0 lead. Seniors Katie Tutrone and Dileas MacGowan took care of business at No. 6 and No. 9, earning 3-0 wins over their opponents. At No. 3, sophomore Kayley Leonard came back from a 10-6 deficit in the fifth game, rattling off six consecutive points for the 12-10 win in the deciding game to give the Crimson a three-match advantage.

Junior Alyssa Mehta and sophomore Sophie Mehta then clinched the title for the Crimson in the second set of matches. Alyssa Mehta fell in the opening game at No. 5 before rallying for three-straight victories, including an 11-2 win in the deciding fourth game, while Sophie Mehta swept at No. 8.

Junior Sue Ann Yong and freshman Amelia Henley rolled to wins at No. 7 and No. 4, respectively, in the final wave to secure the 7-2 win for Harvard.

The Crimson will be back in action at the CSA Individual Championships at Dartmouth next weekend, March 3-5.


No. 1 Reeham Sedky def. Sabrina Sobhy (H) – (3-1)

No. 2 Melissa Alves def. Gina Kennedy (H) – (3-0)

No. 3 Kayley Leonard (H) def. Marie Stephan – (3-2)

No. 4 Amelia Henley (H) def. Anaka Alankamony – (3-0)

No. 5 Alyssa Mehta (H) def. Jessica Davis – (3-1)

No. 6 Katherine Tutrone (H) def. Michelle Wong – (3-0)

No. 7 Sue Ann Yong (H) def. Rowaida Attia Walid – (3-0)

No. 8 Sophie Mehta (H) def. Grace Van Arkel – (3-0)

No. 9 Dileas MacGowan (H) def. Lindsay Stanley – (3-0)