No. 1 Women’s Squash Heads to CSA Team Championship with 8-1 Win Over No. 4 Princeton

No. 1 Women’s Squash Heads to CSA Team Championship with 8-1 Win Over No. 4 Princeton

Sophomore Kayley Leonard moved to 9-0 on the year with a sweep at No. 3 against the Tigers (Gil Talbot).  

– The No. 1 Harvard women's squash team advanced to the CSA Team Championship with an 8-1 win against No. 4 Princeton at the Jadwin Squash Courts on Saturday afternoon. The Crimson secured a spot in the Howe Cup finals for the ninth consecutive season.

Harvard (14-0, 7-0 Ivy) extended its win streak to 14 matches with the win over fourth-ranked Princeton (12-4, 5-2 Ivy), including its 37th-straight win dating back to the 2014-15 campaign. The Crimson took a 2-1 lead over the Tigers after the first wave and never looked back, cruising to the decisive victory.

Senior Katherine Tutrone and sophomore Kayley Leonard helped the Crimson out to an early lead, earning victories at No. 6 and No. 3, respectively. Tutrone moved to 13-0 on the year, while Leonard advanced to 11-0.

In the second set of matches, junior Alyssa Mehta, sophomore Sophie Mehta and freshman Gina Kennedy all rolled to wins in their respective matches. Alyssa Mehta and Sophie Mehta both remained undefeated on the year with wins, while Kennedy moved to 10-1 in her rookie campaign.

Sophomore Sabrina Sobhy, junior Sue Ann Yong and freshman Amelia Henley closed out the third wave of matches with three wins for Harvard. Henley stayed unbeaten on the season with a win at No. 4, while Sobhy moved to 9-1 in the No. 1 spot and Yong recorded her 11th win this year.

Harvard will face the winner of No. 2 Penn and No. 3 Trinity in the Howe Cup final at 2 p.m.


No. 1 Sabrina Sobhy (H) def. Olivia Fiechter – (3-0)

No. 2 Gina Kennedy (H) def. Maria Elena Ubina – (3-0)

No. 3 Kayley Leonard (H) def. Alex Toth – (3-0)

No. 4 Amelia Henley (H) def. Samantha Chai – (3-0)

No. 5 Alyssa Mehta (H) def. Gabrielle Garr – (3-0)

No. 6 Katherine Tutrone (H) def. Isabel Hirshberg – (3-1)

No. 7 Sue Ann Yong (H) def. Kira Keating – (3-0)

No. 8 Sophie Mehta (H) Morgan Steelman – (3-1)

No. 9 Kate Feeley def. Eleonore Evans (H) – (3-1)