No. 1 Women’s Squash Cruises to Second-Straight Ivy Title, Defeats Yale, 9-0

The Crimson won its second consecutive Ivy League title, finishing 7-0 in Ancient Eight play (Photo courtesy of Gil Talbot).

– The No. 1 Harvard women's squash team earned its second consecutive Ivy Championship and finished perfect in regular season action with a 9-0 win over No. 5 Yale at the Murr Center Squash Courts on Sunday afternoon. The Crimson won its 12th-straight game of the season, posting a 7-0 mark in Ivy League action.

Harvard (12-0 ,7-0 Ivy) won its 21st Ivy League title as it rolled to a sweep over the Bulldogs (11-4, 6-4 Ivy). The Crimson has now won four conference championships in the last six years, including two straight. The 9-0 decision over the Bulldogs also marked the fifth sweep of an Ivy opponent this season.

Sophomore Sabrina Sobhy took care of business in the top position for Harvard, sweeping her opponent to move to 7-1 on the year at No. 1.

Senior captains Dileas MacGowan and Caroline Monrad remained undefeated on the year with wins at No. 8 and No. 9, respectively. MacGowan notched her 12th victory and Monrad recorded her 10th win of their senior campaigns. Seniors Keegan Mendez and Katherine Tutrone also remained unbeaten, with Mendez tallying her seventh win and Tutrone her 11th.

Sophomores Kayley Leonard and Sophie Mehta, along with freshman Amelia Henley, cruised to 3-0 wins to stay perfect on the year as well. Junior Sue Ann Yong picked up a sweep at No. 6 to close out the sweep for the Crimson.

Harvard women's squash will be back in action for the CSA Team Championships at Princeton on Feb. 24-26.


No. 1   Sabrina Sobhy (H) def. Jenny Scherl – (3-0)            

No. 2   Gina Kennedy (H) def. Lucy Beecroft– (3-0)                  

No. 3   Kayley Leonard (H) def. Celine Yeap – (3-0)            

No. 4   Amelia Henley (H) def. Shiyuan Mao – (3-0)

No. 5   Katherine Tutrone (H) def. Jennifer Davis – (3-0)    

No. 6  Sue Ann Yong (H) def. Jocelyn Lehman – (3-0)                    

No. 7   Sophie Mehta (H) def. Emily Sherwood – (3-1)

No. 8   Dileas MacGowan (H) def. Selena Maity– (3-0)  

No. 9   Caroline Monrad  (H) def. Madeline Tomlinson – (3-1)      

No. 10 Keegan Mendez (H) def. Ashley Suan – (3-1)