No. 1 Women’s Squash Earns Share of Ivy Championship with Victory at No. 9 Brown, 9-0

No. 1 Women’s Squash Earns Share of Ivy Championship with Victory at No. 9 Brown, 9-0

Freshman Amelia Henley rolled to a 3-0 win at No. 2 against the Bears Friday (Gil Talbot).

. – The No. 1 Harvard women's squash team earned its 10th-straight win of the season with a 9-0 thrashing of No. 9 Brown on Friday. The Crimson moved to 6-0 in conference action with the win, clinching at least a share of the Ivy League title as the only remaining undefeated team with one match remaining.

Harvard (10-0, 6-0) stayed unbeaten on the season with the decisive victory over the Bears (5-6, 0-6 Ivy), while securing its second-straight Ivy League title for the first time since 2002-03. The Crimson also won its 33rd consecutive match dating back to the 2014-15 season.

The Crimson cruised to its seventh sweep of an opponent this season, as freshmen Gina Kennedy and Amelia Henley competed at the top spots Harvard. Both rookies earned 3-0 victories, giving Kennedy her sixth win and Henley her eighth of the season. Freshman Eleonore Evans tallied her ninth victory with a sweep at No. 6.

Junior Alyssa Mehta dominated at No. 3 and senior Katie Tutrone recorded a sweep at No. 4 to both remain undefeated on the year with nine wins, each.

Senior captains Dileas MacGowan and Caroline Monrad took care of business in the No. 7 and No. 8 slots for the Crimson, while junior Sue Ann Yong and Keegan Mendez picked up victories at No. 5 and No. 9, respectively.

Harvard returns to action with a home match against No. 6 Stanford Saturday at 11 a.m., before welcoming No. 5 Yale at 1 p.m. on Sunday for its final regular season contest. With a win over the Bulldogs, the Crimson would win the Ivy League title outright. 


No. 1   Gina Kennedy (H) def. Quincy Beck – (3-0)

No. 2   Amelia Henley (H) def. Hannah Seckendorf – (3-0)

No. 3   Alyssa Mehta (H) def. Hannah Hay-Smith – (3-0)

No. 4   Katherine Tutrone (H) def. Isabel Scherl – (3-0)

No. 5   Sue Ann Yong (H) def. Isabel Young – (3-0)

No. 6   Eleonore Evans (H) def. Scarlett Bergam – (3-0)

No. 7   Dileas MacGowan (H) def. Katrina Northrop – (3-1)

No. 8   Caroline Monrad (H) def. Purvi Goel – (3-0)

No. 9   Keegan Mendez (H) def. Hannah Safford – (3-1)

No. 10 Alyssa Mehta (H) def. Katherine Pisani – (3-0)