Harvard Squash Finishes Season at CSA Individual Championships

Harvard Squash Finishes Season at CSA Individual Championships

Ali Farag and Amanda Sobhy are ranked No. 1 entering the CSA Individual Championships (photos courtesy Dale Walker).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Members of the Harvard men's and women's squash teams will travel to Amherst, Mass. this weekend for the College Squash Association (CSA) Individual Championships. Amherst College will serve as the host for the three-day event, which features 160 of the top collegiate squash players in the nation.

The CSA individual championships are comprised of four tournaments, two men's and two women's. Each group has a main draw, where the top 32 players battle for the national championship, and a second tournament, which is comprised of 48 student-athletes. The women play for the Ramsay and Holleran cups, while the men compete for the Pool Trophy and Molloy Cup.

The Harvard men have won 33 Pool Trophies, awarded to the best male player in college squash, while the women have taken 11 Ramsay Cups, the female equivalent. In 2010, Crimson student-athletes took both titles, as Colin West '10 and Laura Gemmell were crowned individual national champions.

This year's brackets are filled with Harvard players. The Crimson's top player is seeded No. 1 in each main draw tournament, as sophomore Ali Farag and freshman Amanda Sobhy are the men' and women's favorites according to the CSA. A total of seven women and six men will represent Harvard in Amherst.

All seven women's players, who helped the Crimson to the CSA team national championship Feb. 26, will take part in the Ramsay Cup tournament. Gemmell also garnered a seed, as the junior and former champion is ranked No. 3. Millie Tomlinson of Yale, last year's individual champion, is seeded No. 2. For the complete list of women's individual rankings, click here.

Cece Cortes, Nirasha Guruge, Natasha Kingshott, Haley Mendez and Sarah Mumanachit will also take the courts for Harvard.

On the men's side, Harvard will have four players in the Pool Trophy bracket and two others playing for the Molloy Cup. Other than Farag, Nick Hopcroft, Gary Power and Brandon McLaughlin will play for the Pool Trophy, while the Molloy Cup bracket features Thomas Mullaney and Nigel Koh.

First Round Matchups
Ramsay Cup (bracket)
No. 1 Amanda Sobhy vs. Gwendoline Tilghman (Yale), 11:40 a.m.
No. 3 Laura Gemmell vs. Natalie Babjukova (Trinity), 1 p.m.
Natasha Kingshott vs. Nabilla Ariffin (Penn), 12:20 p.m.
Cece Cortes vs. Alicia Rodriguez Acosta (Trinity), 12:20 p.m.
Sarah Mumanachit vs. Kimberley Hay (Yale), 1:40 p.m.
Nirasha Guruge vs. Jesse Pacheco (Cornell), 1:40 p.m.
Haley Mendez vs. Jaime Laird (Cornell), 1:40 p.m.

Pool Trophy (bracket)
No. 1 Ali Farag vs. Reinhold Hergeth (Trinity), 11:20 a.m.
Nick Hopcroft vs. Nicholas Sachvie (Cornell), 1:10 p.m.
Gary Power vs. Andres Duany (Rochester), 1:10 p.m.
Brandon McLaughlin vs. Kenneth Chan (Yale), 1:10 p.m.

Molloy Cup (bracket)
Thomas Mullany (H) vs. Harry Waterton (Bryant), 9:50 a.m. 
Nigel Koh BYE, will face winner of Kyle Ogilvy (St. Lawrence) vs. Caleb Garza (Conn. College) at 2:50 p.m.