Harvard's Melanie Baskind Nominated for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Harvard's Melanie Baskind Nominated for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Harvard University's Melanie Baskind is among a group of sixty NCAA men's and women's soccer student-athletes named as a candidate for the 2011 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award in collegiate soccer. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

Baskind is a captain and All-Ivy League selection in both soccer and lacrosse at Harvard. A two-time ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District selection, Baskind tied for the Harvard team lead with nine goals and was second with 22 points last season.  

The 2011 candidate class includes 15 National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-Americans from last season. Half of the 60 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. Ten of the candidates were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2010 Academic All-Americans. Twenty-six of the candidates play for teams ranked in the NSCAA's preseason top 25 polls. Six student-athletes participated in the 2010 NCAA Men's or Women's College Cups®. Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winners during the 2011 NCAA Men's and Women's College Cup championships. The Women's College Cup will take place December 2 and 4 in Kennesaw, Ga., while the Men's College Cup will take place December 9 and 11 in Hoover, Ala.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

For more information on all the candidates, visit

# # # #

Men's Soccer Candidates

Perez Agaba, Forward, IUPUI

Austin Berry, Defender, Louisville

Thomas Brandt, Defender, Pennsylvania

Tony Cascio, Midfielder, Connecticut

Sean Dreybus, Midfielder/Forward, Appalachian State

Wes Feighner, Left Back, Cal Poly

Ethan Finlay, Forward, Creighton

Andrew Fontein, Goalkeeper, UC Irvine

Adam Glick, Goalkeeper, Florida Gulf Coast

Brian Holt, Goalkeeper, Creighton

Matt Horn, Defender/Midfielder, Winthrop

Hunter Jumper, Defender, Virginia

Matt Kirby, Forward, Denver

Greg Klazura, Defender, Notre Dame

Greg Macnamara, Defender, Davidson

Matt Makowski, Goalkeeper, American

Eric Masch, Forward, Santa Clara

Michael Mazzullo, Midfielder, Columbia

Heath Melugin, Midfielder, Missouri State

Steven Miller, Forward, Colgate

Thomas Ostrander, Forward, Drake

Jack Pearson, Defender, Dayton

Brent Richards, Forward, Washington

Colin Rolfe, Forward, Louisville

Andy Rose, Midfielder/Defender, UCLA

Bobby Smith, Defender, Bradley

Adam Still, Defender, Southern Methodist

Kirk Urso, Midfielder, North Carolina

Krystian Witkowski, Forward/Midfielder, Marist

Carl Woszczynski, Goalkeeper, UAB


Women's Soccer Candidates

Melanie Baskind, Midfielder/Forward, Harvard

Jana Basubas, Midfielder, Lehigh

Kathleen Beljan, Defender, Dayton

Sidra Bonner, Defender, Cornell

Colleen Boyd, Goalkeeper, Oregon State

Kate Deines, Midfielder, Washington

Danielle Foxhoven, Forward, Portland

Katy Frierson, Midfielder, Auburn

CoCo Goodson, Defender, UC Irvine

Chelsea Hatcher, Midfielder/Forward, Tennessee

Melissa Henderson, Forward, Notre Dame

Bianca Henninger, Goalkeeper, Santa Clara

Laura Heyboer, Forward, Michigan State

Tori Huster, Midfielder, Florida State

Mo Isom, Goalkeeper, LSU

Kelsey Kearney, Goalkeeper, UNC Greensboro

Natalie Kulla, Goalkeeper, Marquette

Sydney Leroux, Forward, UCLA

Krista Lopez, Forward, Oklahoma State

Paige Maxwell, Forward, Ohio State

Kerry McBride, Defender/Midfielder, Marquette

Teresa Noyola, Midfielder, Stanford

Kelly Reinwald, Midfielder, Canisius

Aline Reis, Goalkeeper, Central Florida

Chandra Salmon-Christensen, Defender, Utah State

Casey Short, Midfielder, Florida State

Lizzy Simonin, Defender, Memphis

Jasmyne Spencer, Forward, Maryland

Jessica Teahan, Goalkeeper, Missouri State

Ingrid Wells, Midfielder, Georgetown