Women's Soccer Celebrates Season at Annual Banquet

Senior co-captain Gina Wideroff was the recipient of the Seamus Malin '62 Award (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- The Harvard women's soccer team held its annual banquet at the Lee Family Hall of History in the Murr Center Sunday afternoon. The Crimson finished the 2010 season 9-7-1 overall and 4-3-0 in Ivy League action.

With the team, coaches and members of the administration in attendance, head coach Ray Leone announced the recipients of the Crimson's three major awards.

The first award presented was the Leslie Gray Poole '93 Memorial Award, presented annually to the most improved player on the Harvard women's soccer team. Sophomore forward Alexandra Conigliaro was the recipient of this award after garnering her first All-Ivy League selection. She scored a career-high four goals and four assists for 12 points. She also scored two game-winning goals (Yale Oct. 2 and Quinnipiac Oct. 25). Conigliaro ranked third on the Crimson in scoring and was 1-for-1 on penalty kicks during the season.

Leone handed out the Seamus Malin '62 Award, given annually to the player who has, through love of the game and commitment to Harvard, demonstrated the values shown by Seamus Malin '62 in his long and continuing association with Harvard and the game. Senior Gina Wideroff was presented with the award after serving as co-captain for the second straight season. Wideroff started 11 of the 14 games she appeared in during the 2010 campaign and had four shots on the season. She was a three-time All-Ivy selection during her career and helped lead Harvard to two Ancient Eight titles.

The final award presented was the inaugural Meg Berte Owen '94 Memorial Award, which is given annually to the soccer player that best examplifies Meg's leadership, work ethic, passion, courage, and sheer determination both on and off the playing field. The award is named after former Harvard captain Meg Berte Owen. Meg, the captain of the 1993 team, passed away from lung disease brought on from an earlier battle with Hodgkin's Lymphoma.

Senior co-captain Katherine Sheeleigh was presented with the Meg Berte Owen '94 Memorial Award. Sheeleigh, who was recently selected by the Boston Breakers in the third round of the Women's Professional Soccer draft, was the 2010 Ivy League Player of the Year and earned her fourth straight nod to the All-Ivy first team. A finalist for the Lowe's Senior Class Award and an ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District choice, Sheeleigh, a forward, led the Ivy League with 25 points and tied teammate Melanie Baskind with the conference lead with nine goals. Sheeleigh concluded her collegiate career fifth in program history with 31 goals and sixth with 79 points.