Rugby, Two-Time Defending Ivy League Champion Going for Three-Peat on Saturday

Photo by Gil Talbot
Photo by Gil Talbot


Ivy 7s Championship
Saturday, April 14, 2018
9:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.
West Windsor Fields
First Place (2017)
First Place (2016, 2017)

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Two-time defending Ivy League Sevens champion Harvard women's rugby team seeks a third consecutive Ancient Eight crown on Saturday, April 14. Princeton will host this year's Ivy sevens tournament at West Windsor Fields. Harvard (8-2) has been placed in Pool A and will take on Cornell, Columbia, and Brown in group play. The Crimson's first match is set for 9:30 a.m. against the Big Red. 

Pool A: Harvard, Brown, Columbia, Cornell
Pool B: Dartmouth, Penn, Princeton, Yale

Each of Harvard's matches will take place on Field One. After meeting Cornell, Harvard will compete against the Lions at 10:50 a.m. and the Bears at 12:10 p.m. The top two teams from each pool will compete in a crossover semifinal (A1 vs. B2 and B1 vs. A2) at 1:50 p.m. Contests for seventh, fifth, and third place will begin at 2:30 p.m. The championship match is slated for 3:30 p.m.

Last Time Out
The Harvard rugby team took third place at the 2018 Brown Sevens Tournament on Sunday, defeating American International, Sacred Heart, West Chester, and Norwich. Sophomore Delia Hellander led the Crimson (8-2) to a 4-1 showing on the day with 42 points behind six tries and six conversions. For the second straight tournament, Dominique Cantave scored at least three tries, touching down thrice on Berylson Family Fields. Sarah Lipson, Jenny Kronish, Milan Roberts, and Sabrina Kim also added tries.

Last Time at the Ivy 7s Tournament
The Harvard women's rugby team collected its second consecutive Ivy 7s Championship with a 10-5 win over Dartmouth in the finals. The Crimson (15-4) finished 2-1 in pool play with wins over Columbia and Penn, earning a semifinal matchup against Princeton. Harvard took down the Tigers, 22-19, to clinch a spot in the championship game. Having fallen to Dartmouth, 12-0, earlier in the day, the Crimson rallied from a first-half deficit to earn a hard-fought 10-5 win for its second-straight Ivy 7s Championship.

Harvard's 7s in `17
The 2017 sevens season saw Harvard win its second Ivy League Championship in a row and finish third in the nation. The Crimson earned its No. 3 national standing after going 4-1 at the NIRA 7s Challenge. Harvard topped West Chester, 17-7, AIC, 24-5, and Dartmouth, 10-7, in group play, but was defeated by Army, 26-7, to finish second in pool play. In the third-place bout, Harvard upended AIC, 26-5, to conclude the year as the No. 3 team in the country.

Harvard became back-to-back Ivy League champions when it defeated Dartmouth in the final. The Crimson swept Columbia, 29-0, and Penn, 45-0, before falling to Dartmouth, 12-0. Harvard then won a 22-19 battle against Princeton to earn a spot in the Ancient Eight title game where it used a strong second half to defeat the Big Green, 10-5.

Fall 15s
The Crimson went 4-3-1, reaching the Ivy League Championship and NIRA National Semifinal. Senior captain Maya Learned, juniors Caitlin Weigel and Jenny Kronish, and freshman Milan Roberts earned All-America honors. Senior lock Haley Langan was bestowed an All-America honorable mention. Roberts paced the Crimson with eight tries, while Weigel scored seven times and converted four times. Learned accumulated five tries, while Kronish led the team with 24 conversions.

Ivy League Digital Network
The Ivy League Network returns for a fifth season as the home for all live streaming and on-demand video content for each of the conference's eight institutions. Broadcast in full HD and featuring a live score bug and play-by-play and color commentary, the Ivy League Network provides fans with unprecedented access to the Ancient Eight.
Multiple subscription options are available to fans, including school-specific and league-wide passes. To learn more about the Ivy League Network or to sign-up today, click here, or download the Ivy League Network app

National Intercollegiate Rugby Association
NIRA is a cohort of 17 member institutions sponsoring NCAA rugby at their respective divisional level (I, II, or III). Together these schools committed to the expansion of women's rugby and achieving full NCAA sponsorship. Harvard, along with Army, Brown, Dartmouth, Mount St. Mary's, Quinnipiac, Sacred Heart are NIRA Division I programs. American International College, Central Washington, Long Island University-Post, Molloy College, Notre Dame College, and West Chester University are Division II schools. Bowdoin College, Castleton University, Norwich University, and the University of New England compete at the Division III level. Each compete against the others for the NIRA national title.

What's Next
Harvard will compete at the Bowdoin Polar Bear Sevens Tournament on Saturday, April 21. The tournament serves as an automatic qualifier for sevens nationals held on Saturday, May 19.