O'Connor Earns Top Seed at NCAA Championships; Brackets Released

O'Connor Earns Top Seed at NCAA Championships; Brackets Released

Photo courtesy of


Three members of the Harvard wrestling team are headed to the 2010 NCAA Wrestling Championships in Omaha, Neb. The NCAA announced all 284 qualifiers for the national championship Wednesday night along with seeds and brackets.

Senior co-captain J.P. O’Connor earned the No. 1 seed at 157 pounds. He is 30-0 on the season and won titles at the Binghamton Open, the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational and the EIWA Championships. He was named Co-Ivy League Wrestler of the Year and was a unanimous first-team All-Ivy League selection. O’Connor is the second Harvard wrestler to garner the No. 1 seed at the NCAA Championships. Jesse Jantzen did it in 2004. O’Connor, who is a two-time All-American is competing in his fourth NCAA Championships, will take on Vincent Salminen of North Dakota State.

Senior Louis Caputo is the eighth seed at 184 pounds. The native of Blue Springs, Mo., finished second at the EIWA Championships after receiving unanimous first-team All-Ivy League honors. Caputo, who is 22-3 on the season, is a two-time All-American and is competing in his fourth NCAAs. His first round opponent will be Austin Trotman of Appalachian State.

Steven Keith finished third at the EIWA Championships at 125 pounds to earn an automatic berth to the NCAA championships. Keith is 18-10 on the season. The Shoreham, N.Y., native will face the 12th seed Ben Kjar of Utah Valley State in the first round.

The 2010 NCAA Championships will begin Thursday, March 18 at the Qwest Center in Omaha, Neb. First round action gets underway at noon (EST). The first two sessions (Thursday) will air live on ESPNU will sessions 3-5 (Friday and Saturday morning), while the finals (session 6) will be aired live on ESPN.