Women's Hockey to Open 40th Annual Women's Beanpot Tournament

Live Stats
Last Meeting
Game Notes
Harvard vs. Boston University
Feb. 6, 2018
5 p.m.
Kelley Rink at Conte Forum (BC)
Click Here
Luis Sanchez, Grant Salzano
Harvard leads, 26-10-2
T, 6-6 (ot) (Feb. 7, 2017)
Harvard  |  Boston University


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard women's hockey team is set to open the 40th annual women's Beanpot tournament against Boston University on Tuesday night. Puck drop is slated for 5 p.m. and the 2018 tournament is being held at Conte Forum on the campus of Boston College. All four Beanpot games will be broadcast on ESPN3. The women's Beanpot ranks as the longest running women's tournament in all of college sports, making its debut in 1979 at Northeastern's Historic Matthews Arena. For years, this battle for Boston bragging rights was dominated by Northeastern and Harvard, but the prominence of women's hockey continues to grow and there is parity across the sport and the Beanpot like never before.

Quick Hits
Harvard is 48-29-1 all-time in Beanpot games and 32-13-1 under head coach Katey Stone. 

Harvard is 26-10-2 all-time against Boston University and 18-2-1 against the Terriers in Beanpot games. 

The Crimson won seven straight Beanpot titles from 1999-2005. 

On the current roster, senior captain Haley Mullins ranks as the leading Beanpot scorer, with two goals and three assists for five points. Kate Hallett, Kat Hughes, Chelsea Ziadie, Beth Larcom and Ali Peper have also marked the scoresheet in Beanpot contests. 

The last time Harvard won the Beanpot was in 2015. The Crimson defeated No. 1/1 Boston College 3-2 at the Bright Landry Hockey Center. 

Harvard has outscored Beanpot opponents 329-207 all-time, 72-39 at Conte Forum and 131-29 against Boston University.

Harvard is 17-10-0 all-time at Conte Forum and 9-7-0 in Beanpot contests at Conte Forum. 

Only In Boston
In 2018, Boston College, Boston University, Harvard and Northeastern will celebrate the 40th anniversary of the women's Beanpot Tournament. In 40 years, Harvard has advanced to the Beanpot championship 28 times- more than any of the other three schools. Harvard boasts an all-time record of 48-29-1 at the Beanpot and has earned 14 titles, the second most behind Northeastern with 16. 

40th Anniversary Team
To recognize this commemorative year, Hockey East has put together the top 40 moments in women's Beanpot history- dating back to 1979. Over the next 40 days, the conference will be posting photos, clips, videos, and memorabilia in a countdown leading up to the 2018 Women's Beanpot Championship, held at the Conte Forum at Boston College on February 13th. Follow @WomensBeanpot on twitter and instagram to catch all of the 40 moments!

In honor of the 40th anniversary, Hockey East, along with the coaches of all four Beanpot schools, worked together to select a 25 member roster comprised of some of the most decorated players in Beanpot history. 

Jennifer Botterill '03
Four Beanpot titles (1999-01, 2003)…Three-time Beanpot MVP (2000-01, 2003)…Beanpot Hall of Fame inductee…Two-time Patty Kazmaier Award winner (2001, 2003)…Four-time Olympian (Canada, 1998-2010)…Scored the overtime winner in Harvard's 2000 and 2001 titles…All-time leading Beanpot scorer 16-13-29. 

Julie Chu '07
Three Beanpot titles (2003-05)…Beanpot Hall of Fame inductee…Patty Kazmaier Award winner (2007)…Four-time Olympian (USA, 2002-14)…Tallied four assists in Harvard's '03 championship. 

Nicole Corriero '05
Four Beanpot titles (2002-05)…2005 Beanpot MVP…Beanpot Hall of Fame inductee…Scored the game-winning goal in Harvard's seventh consecutive Beanpot championship, a 6-1 victory over Boston College. 

Angela Ruggiero '04
Four Beanpot titles (1999-2000, 2003-04)… 2004 Beanpot MVP…Beanpot Hall of Fame inductee…Patty Kazmaier Award winner (2004)…Four-time Olympian (USA, 1998-2002)…Scored the game-winning goal in Harvard's 5-1 victory over Northeastern in 2004. 

Liza Ryabkina '11
Two Beanpot titles (2008, 2010)…2010 Beanpot MVP…Scored Harvard's goal in a 1-0 win over Northeastern for the Crimson's 13th Beanpot title. 

Tammy Shewchuk '01
Three Beanpot titles (1999-2001)…Beanpot Hall of Fame inductee…Olympian (Canada, 2002)…Had four assists in Harvard's 1999 win. 

Cheryl Tate '84
Two Beanpot titles (1982-83)…Two-time Beanpot MVP (1982-83)…Beanpot Hall of Fame inductee…Backstopped Harvard to the title game through five overtimes against Northeastern in the first round of 1982…Made 29 saves in Harvard's second Beanpot title, a 2-1 victory over Northeastern. 

Sarah Vaillancourt '09
Two Beanpot titles (2005, 2008)…Beanpot Hall of Fame inductee…Patty Kazmaier Award winner (2008)…Two-time Olympian (Canada, 2006-10)…Notched four points in Harvard's 2005 championship. 

The Venue
This year's Beanpot is being hosted by Boston College at Conte Forum. In Beanpot games at Conte Forum, Harvard has gone 9-7-0. 

Kelley Rink first opened at Conte Forum in 1988 and the Eagles hosted their first Beanpot two years later in 1990. 

Two of Harvard's 14 Beanpot titles have come at Conte Forum (2001, 2004) and Harvard has outscored opponents 72-39 in Beanpot games at Conte Forum. 

What's Next?
Harvard will return to the comfort of the Bright-Landry Hockey Center this weekend to play its final two home contests of the regular season against Union and Rensselaer. Friday's matchup with the Dutchwomen is set for 6 p.m. and will air on ESPN3 and the ILN while Saturday's contest against the Engineers is slated for a 3 p.m. start and will also be broadcast on the Ivy League Network.