Fifteen Women's Hockey Players Earn Spots on ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

Fifteen Women's Hockey Players Earn Spots on ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

Harvard celebrates a goal against Dartmouth during the 2012-13 season (photo Gil Talbot).

ECAC Hockey Release

Fifteen members of the 2012-13 Harvard women's hockey team were named to the ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team, the league announced Wednesday. Players are eligible for the All-Academic Team if they earn a cumulative grade-point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 during the past three semesters.

Harvard's 15 honorees ranked fourth among the 12 ECAC Hockey teams. 

Five members of the class of 2013 were honored for the fourth time in their careers. Laura Bellamy (history and science), Margaret Chute (history and science), Jillian Dempsey (classics), Hilary Hayssen (history of art and architecture) and Kelsey Romatoski (neurobiology) all earned a spot on the team during every season in which they suited up for the Crimson. Fellow senior Kaitlin Spurling (government) earned her third nod, while Harvard juniors on the squad included Lyndsey Fry (history and science) and Elizabeth Parker (government).

Sophomores Hillary Crowe (phsychology), Michelle Picard (anthropology) and Samantha Reber (psychology) were also joined on the list with freshmen Dylanne Crugnale, Miye D'Oench, Emerance Maschmeyer and Mary Parker.

The Crimson not only excelled in the classroom during the 2012-13 academic year, but also on the ice. Harvard produced a 24-7-3 overall record and highlighted the season with trips to the ECAC Hockey Tournament championship game and the NCAA tournament.

For the full ECAC Hockey All-Academic release, click here.