Botterill, Vaillancourt to Represent Team Canada at 2010 Olympics

Botterill, Vaillancourt to Represent Team Canada at 2010 Olympics

Pictured: Former Harvard standouts Jennifer Botterill '02-03 (left) and Sarah Vaillancourt '08-09
Photo courtesy: Hockey Canada

Complete Hockey Canada Release

CALGARY, Alta. --
Harvard alumnae Jennifer Botterill '02-03 and Sarah Vaillancourt '08-09 are among 21 players who have been selected to represent Canada's National Women's Hockey Team at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C., Hockey Canada announced Monday.

Botterill, the only two-time winner of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award (2001 and 2003), given to the top U.S. collegiate women's hockey player, will be making her fourth appearance in the Olympics.  Botterill earned a silver medal with Team Canada at the 1998 Nagano Games, and won gold in 2002 in Salt Lake City and again in 2006 in Torino.  A four-time All-American with the Crimson, Botterill helped Harvard win the 1999 AWCHA national championship.  A forward, Botterill ranks first in program history with 340 points and 157 goals.  She also stands second with 183 assists.

Vaillancourt, who was honored as the recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Award in 2008, joined Botterill as a gold-medal winner with Team Canada at the Torino Olympics in 2006.  Vaillancourt, a forward, will be skating in the Olympics for the second time.  A three-time All-American, Vaillancourt amassed 237 points on 106 goals and 131 assists during her Harvard career, ranking her fifth in NCAA history and seventh in the Harvard record books.

“We’re excited today to announce the 21 players who will go for gold in Vancouver,” says Melody Davidson, head coach of Canada’s National Women’s Team. “Our country is fortunate to have unbelievable depth in hockey and this is no different in the women’s game. The selection process has been difficult, which speaks to this depth.”

The 2010 Olympic Winter Games will mark the fourth time women’s hockey has been part of the Olympic program. The women’s hockey tournament opens on Feb. 13, 2010, with Canada facing Slovakia at Canada Hockey Place. The UBC Thunderbird Arena will be home to Canada’s remaining two round-robin games, with the medal round being held at Canada Hockey Place. The gold medal game will be on Feb. 25, 2010.

“Congratulations to the 21 players on this tremendous accomplishment,” says Bob Nicholson, president and CEO of Hockey Canada. “We know that our players will bring pride to all Canadians.”