ACADEMIC INTEGRATION & COMPETITIVE EXCELLENCE

IN DIVISION I ATHLETICS

Men’s and Women’s Fencing Announces 2017-18 Schedule

Men’s and Women’s Fencing Announces 2017-18 Schedule

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. –  Led by head coach Peter Brand in his 18th season, the Harvard fencing team has released its 2017-18 schedule. After finishing fifth in the NCAA Championships last year, the Crimson looks to continue its growing success.

To open the 2017-18 season, both the men's and women's teams will compete in the Penn State Open Saturday, Nov. 4 and Sunday, Nov. 5. After nearly one month off, the two teams will be back in action at the Vassar tournament on Sunday, Dec. 3 where the Crimson faces Vassar, Temple, NYU, Penn State and Sacred Heart University.

The women's team begins its home slate on Tuesday, Dec. 5 against Tufts and Wellesley, which will be broadcasted on the Ivy League Network. Both teams resume play after winter break on Saturday, Jan. 20 at the St. John's Invitational where they face St. John's, Notre Dame, Penn State, Ohio State and Columbia.

The men and women then face NYU at home on Sunday, Feb. 4, before traveling to Princeton on Saturday, Feb. 10 and Sunday, Feb. 11 for the Ivy League Championships. These matches will be available on the Ivy League Network.

The women's team earned a fourth-place finish at last year's tournament, where Adrienne Jarocki ('17) was named sabre champion. The men's team finished fifth in the 2017 Ivy League Championships, where junior Eli Dershwitz led the Crimson with a 14-1 record.

In their final tune up before the NCAA tournament, the men's and women's teams hit the road for the Beanpot tournament in Waltham, Mass. to take on Brandeis, MIT and Boston College on Wednesday, Feb. 14.

Closing the season, the Crimson travels to Brandeis for the NCAA Regionals on Monday, March 12 in hopes of securing a place in the NCAA Championships at Penn State Thursday, March 22 through Sunday, March 25.

Last year, the Crimson sent 11 fencers to the NCAA Championships, earning a fifth-place finish. Sophomore Eli Dershwitz claimed his first national title, winning in the men's sabre category.

ACADEMIC INTEGRATION & COMPETITIVE EXCELLENCE

IN DIVISION I ATHLETICS