Radcliffe Heavyweight Crew Competes at 52nd Head of the Charles

Radcliffe Heavyweight Crew Competes at 52nd Head of the Charles

The Radcliffe varsity eight finished 11th among the collegiate teams (Zack Williamson).


The Harvard-Radcliffe heavyweight crew finished the competitive 52nd-annual Head of the Charles Regatta on Sunday afternoon. The Black and White varsity eight placed 13th overall among 33 teams in the Championship 8 event.


On a gusty, challenging Charles River, the Radcliffe varsity eight, coxed by Kaitlyn Felsheim and stroked by Rafaela Stalph, clocked a competitive time of 17:39.049, placing them 13th overall, a 6 place improvement on 2015. This was a young eight, with three sophomores and two freshman in the line up. The third varsity eight, also racing in the Championship event, finished 33rd in 19:35.014. 

The second varsity eight kicked off Radcliffe's racing on the Saturday, competing in the Club Eight event. This crew, racing aggressively from start to finish, placed a strong 3rd in a time of 16:55.830, with only 1 second separating them from second place.

The varsity four, racing in the Championship Four event, placed 11th overall with a time of 20:23.131. The Black and White four was stroked by Katherine Playfair and coxed by freshman Katherine Paglione.

For a full list of results from the Head of the Charles, click here.

Championship Eights
Radcliffe A: 17:39.049
8: Rafaela Stalph, 7: Sofia Donnecke, 6: Desmond Goodwin, 5: Georgia Wheeler, 4: Teresa Rokos, 3: Sophia Young, 2: Abigail Parker, 1: Elizabeth Elmgren, c: Kaitlyn Felsheim

Radcliffe B: 19:35.014
8: Sarah Tisdall, 7: Emily Johnson, 6: Stephanie Eble, 5: Catherine Joyce, 4: Emma Orcutt, 3: Kathleen Malloch, 2: Giselle Gomez, 1: Maria Splaine, c: Cat O'Donnell

Championship Fours
Radcliffe: 20.23.131
4: Katherine Playfair, 3: Elizabeth Roe, 2: Hailey Novis, 1: Kelsey Barolak, c: Katherine Paglione 

Club Eight
Cox: Helen Eisenach, 8: Hannah Osborn, 7: Victoria Basedow, 6: Heidi Nocka, 5: Erica Holmes, 4: Isabella Benduski, 3: Corinne Bozzini, 2: Grace Eysenbach, 1: Emily Gaudiani