No. 18 Harvard-Radcliffe Heavyweight Crew Opens 46th Season


Start Time

BC, BU, Northeastern, MIT
Saturday, March 26
Charles River
7:48 a.m.


Ivy League Digital Network

Program Beanpot

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The No. 18 Harvard-Radcliffe heavyweight crew team opens its 46th season of competition Saturday, March 26, hosting the ninth Beanpot against Boston College, Boston University, MIT and Northeastern. The race will be streamed on the Ivy League Digital Network. This marks the first time since 2012 that the Black and White will open with the Beanpot.

7:48am - 4V 8+
8:12am - 3V8+
8:36am - 1V8+
9:00am - 2V8+
9:24am - V4A


Varsity Eight: Katie Felsheim (coxswain), Sofia Donnecke (stroke), Freddie Archibald (7), Katherine Playfair (6), Laura Bleeke (5), Abigail Parker (4), Mary Carmack (3), Lauren Tracey (2), Zabie Elmgren (bow)

Second Varsity: Helen Eisenach (coxswain), Raf Stalph (stroke), Erica Holmes (7), Bella Benduski (6), Kelsey Barolak (5), Teresa Rokos (4), Maeve Hoffstot (3), Heidi Nocka (2), Erin Slatery (bow)

Varsity Four: Anna Jaysing (coxswain), Hailey Novis (4), Sophia Young (3), Hannah Osborn (2), Corinne Bozzini (1)

Third Varsity Eight: Jenny Li (coxswain), Tori Basedow (stroke), Emily Johansen (7), Emma Nealis (6), Kathleen Malloch (5), Emma Orcutt (4), Alyssa Seigmann (3), Jeanne Olivier (2), Maria Splaine (bow)

Fourth Varsity Eight: Maria Stoica (coxswain), Emily Gaudiani (stroke), Danielle Feffer (7), Rachel Milam (6), Jill Scyocurka (5), Elizabeth Ashford (4), Molly Moore (3), Alison Steinbach (2), Grace Wagner (bow)

Last Year
For the fifth-straight year and 17th time in the 19-year history of the event, Radcliffe earned a bid to the NCAA Championships. The Black and White finished 14th overall and also won the Eastern Sprints title.

Scouting the Field
Boston College (1-1) opened the season Saturday on the Schuylkill River, defeating St. Joseph's by eight seconds and falling to Pennsylvania by seven seconds. Northeastern received votes in the first CRCA/USRowing Coaches Poll. BU and MIT will be racing for the first time Saturday.

Beanpot Series
Radcliffe leads the all-time series in the Beanpot, 7-1, with its only loss coming in 2010. Columbia won that event, with Northeastern coming in second and Radcliffe finishing third. The Black and White has taken each of the last four Beanpot titles, including besting Northeastern and BU by over 10 seconds a season ago.

Radcliffe owns a 14-2 all-time series lead in the Allen-DeWolfe Trophy with BU. The Terriers last came away with a win in 2006. In the Rowlands Trophy series, the Black and White maintain a 15-5 advantage over Northeastern, winning each of the last three events.  

In the Polls
Radcliffe opened the season at No. 18 in the CRCA/USRowing Coaches Poll. Ohio State ranked No. 1, followed by California, Brown, Virginia and Washington.

In the Launch
In her 30th season of guiding the Harvard-Radcliffe heavyweight crews in 2015-16, head coach Liz O'Leary owns a 195-101 career dual record with 16 appearances in the NCAA Championship, including the 2003 title and a 2005 bronze medal finish. 

Up Next
Radcliffe will be back on the Charles River next weekend to host Dartmouth and Brown. Racing will start at 8:24 a.m. on the Ivy League Digital Network.