No. 18 Radcliffe Heavyweight Crew Takes Beanpot Team Title

No. 18 Radcliffe Heavyweight Crew Takes Beanpot Team Title

The Black and White celebrates its team championship.

Varsity eight full race video | Scroll down for regatta highlights on YouTube

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—The Radcliffe heavyweight crew claimed its fourth team-points banner in the four-year history of the Beanpot regatta pitting the Black and White against area rivals Boston College, Boston University, MIT and Northeastern, while guest Columbia won the varsity eight Saturday morning on the Charles River.

The No. 18 Black and White won the varsity four B and had two runner-up and two third-place finishes to take the team championship with 43 points, edging Northeastern with 40. The Huskies varsity win broke an 11-year Radcliffe win streak in the Rowlands Cup series, trimming the Black and White's cup series lead to 12-5. Radcliffe's defeat of BU gave the Black and White a fourth straight Allen-DeWolfe Trophy win and an 11-3 lead in the cup series.

“We were happy to win the team championship,” said Radcliffe head coach Liz O’Leary, whose team rowed for the last time before the May 16 Eastern Sprints. “It’s always good to have that kind of depth, particularly in a year where we have such a young team.”

Radcliffe placed a close third in the six-boat varsity eight race. The Black and White held a narrow advantage through the first half of the race as Radcliffe, Northeastern and Columbia pulled away from the rest of the field. The Huskies surged slightly ahead in the third 500 but were passed by the Lions, who finished 2.37 seconds ahead of the NU boat and 3.2 ahead of the Black and White.

Northeastern topped the Black and White by about four-fifths of a second to become the first non-Radcliffe varsity to win the Beanpot. Radcliffe finished more than 14 seconds ahead of fourth-place BU.

“It was good to be in a tight race,” O’Leary said. “When you’re next to someone, you can see what you need to work on. They now have a much more clear sense of what it’s going to take to beat Northeastern or Columbia or anyone else who’s next to them in a lane.”

The varsity four B pulled away to open water BC and BU early. The Terriers stayed in contention but could not get close enough to threaten the Black and White, which won by more than four seconds in 8:01.74.

The second varsity eight placed second behind Columbia in 7:02.33, 4.62 seconds ahead of Northeastern’s third-place entry. Boston University held a one-seat lead on the Radcliffe varsity four A after 500 meters but extended its lead from there as the Black and White moved away from the rest of the field for a runner-up time of 7:51.33.

Northeastern took control of the third varsity eight race at the midway point, as Radcliffe and Columbia battled for second. The Lions edged the Black and White by about three-quarters of a second.

Team Competition
Radcliffe 43
Northeastern 40
Boston University 33
Boston College 18

Varsity Eight
Columbia 6:43.18
Northeastern 6:45.55
Radcliffe 6:46.38
Boston University 7:00.53
Boston College 7:05.41
MIT 7:10.84 

Second Varsity Eight
Columbia 6:54.49
Radcliffe 7:02.33
Northeastern 7:06.95
Boston University 7:12.42
Boston College 7:26.77 

Varsity Four A
Boston University 7:44.01
Radcliffe 7:51.33
Columbia 7:56.35
Northeastern 8:03.45
Boston College 8:06.35 

Varsity Four B
Radcliffe 8:01.74
Boston University 8:05.92
Boston College 8:24.27 

Third Varsity Eight
Northeastern 7:18.89
Columbia 7:22.53
Radcliffe 7:23.27
Boston University 7:40.64

The varsity four B pulled ahead of the field well before the Harvard Bridge.

Radcliffe Lineups
Varsity Eight
Cox: Jill Carlson, 8: Christine Baugh, 7: Shelley Pearson, 6: Laura Huppert, 5: Olivia Coffey, 4: Rachel Knaster, 3: Jennie Peterson, 2: Liz Soutter, 1: Mary Maginnis

Second Varsity
Cox: Amanda Deutsch, 8: Molly Tarrant, 7: Jessica Flakne, 6: Meg Kehan, 5: Tara Larson, 4: Celia Kohl, 3: Jess Mealia, 2: Kirsten Van Fossen, 5: Michaela Pewarski

Varsity Four A
Cox: Rachel Rauh, 4: Ariel Delgado, 3: Katie O'Hanlon, 2: Scout Moran, 1: Eleanor Conover

Varsity Four B
Cox: Andrea Rickey, 4: Marisa D'Orsogna, 2: Laura Savarese, 2: Margot Leger, 1: Lucy Chen

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Jos Lai, 8: Alex Kuschner, 7: Sophie Bearman, 6: Mary Jackson, 5: Rebekah Meyer, 4: Mary Miller, 3: Christina McClintock, 2: Elizabeth Holly, 1: Meg Johnson