Track and Field Announces 2019-20 Captains at Senior Recognition Dinner

Photo Courtesy: Brian Panoff
Photo Courtesy: Brian Panoff

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – At the first-ever Harvard track and field senior recognition dinner last week, the team announced its 2019-20 captains, as selected by their teammates.

Rising seniors Kaeo Kruse, Martha Kebeh and Livia Gauntlett, along with rising junior Erick Duffy will lead the team next year. 

Kruse, a native of Kalaheo, Hawaii, set four track PR's last season in the 1000m, 1500m, 5000m and 3000m steeplechase. Duffy, who is from North Andover, Mass. earned All-Ivy second team honors at the Outdoor Heptagonal Championships and has the second-best mark in the pole vault at Harvard with a 5.41m (17-9) effort.

A Worcester, Mass. native, Kebeh is a three-time letterwinner in both indoor and outdoor track and set new PR's in both hammer and javelin at the Harvard-Yale meet. Gauntlett is an All-Ivy hurdler from Bath, U.K., earning second team honors at the 2019 indoor Heps in the 60m hurdles.

The team also handed out the Carver Hammer and Weight Award, The Harvard-Yale Women's Track Prize and the Treasurer's Award. 

Carver Hammer and Weight Award - Allison Rabe
This award is given in the name of Eugene P. Carver, Jr., '13. Sportsman; for 57 years a dedicated track and field official; loyal Harvard alumnus.  The award is presented to the member of the Harvard Track squad, who, through conduct, perseverance, and performance in the Hammer or Weight, has contributed notably to Harvard Track and the Harvard community. 

Harvard-Yale Prize - Ngozi Musa
The gift of the William Lowell Putnam Prize Fund for the Promotion of Scholarship to establish a fund to be used to award a trophy at the Harvard - Yale Women's Track and Field Meet. 

The Treasurer's Award - Myles Marshall
Awarded annually to the Outstanding Performer, as selected by the coaches in the Harvard vs. Yale dual meet.