Track and Field Hands Out Awards, Names 2017-18 Captains at Banquet

Track and Field Hands Out Awards, Names 2017-18 Captains at Banquet

Marlena Sabatino, Myles Marshall, Gabby Thomas, and Jay Hebert will serve as captains for Harvard track and field next season. (Brian Panoff)

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Following a standout weekend at the Ivy Outdoor Heptagonal Championships, the Harvard track and field team gave out its annual awards to student-athletes and named captains for the 2017-18 season at the squad's annual banquet earlier this week.

Rising senior Marlena Sabatino, rising junior Myles Marshall, rising junior Gabby Thomas, and rising senior Jay Hebert will serve as captains next season.

Thomas, who won five Outdoor Heps titles (long jump, 100m, 200m, 4x100m relay, 4x400m relay) following an All-American indoor campaign in which she earned three Indoor Heps crowns (60m, 200m), earned both the women's Most Valuable Performer award and women's Most Outstanding Performer honors.

On the men's side, the McCurdy Beyond the Call of Duty Award for team MVP went to senior captain Efe Uwaifo. A native of London, England, Uwaifo was named Outdoor Heps Most Outstanding Field Performer of the Meet after winning both the long jump and triple jump. He also took his third straight Indoor Heps title in the triple jump earlier this year.

A complete list of awards can be seen below.

2016-17 Track and Field Awards:
Bingham Relay Award – Women's 4x100m:  Gabby Thomas, Jade Miller, Karina Joiner,
Zoe Hughes
Presented annually to each member of the relay team considered by the coaches to be the most outstanding during the indoor and/or outdoor seasons.

Rita Raju Memorial Award – Haley Baker
Presented for excellence of scholarly pursuits, integrity, and community involvement.  Qualities which mark her a leader by example and an athlete who is a joy to coach.

Watters Mile Award – Judy Pendergast
Awarded annually to the man or women who has competed for Harvard in the mile run with distinction and with dedication to the team's success.

Helmus Improvement Awards – Brett Henderson, James Heckendorn, Jay Hebert
Awarded annually to the three (3) members of the squad who w/ loyal, team effort, hard work & conscientious practice have shown marked improvement contributing to teams success.

Little Shot Put Award – Nikki Okwelogu, Julian Nunally
Awarded to the Harvard shot putter who has contributed to the success of the Harvard Track & Field team through dedication, hard work, ability to overcome obstacles & excellence of competitive performance.

Carver Hammer and Weight Award – Nikki Okwelogu

Westmore Wilcox 440 Award – James Heckendorn, Jade Miller
Award presented annually to the Harvard runner who is the most outstanding in the 440 yard run/400 meter run during the season.

Pappy Hunt Improvement Award – Marlena Sabatino 
This award is presented to that individual who, although perhaps not the fastest or strongest, has through hard work & dedication to the team, shown the most improvement during the track season.

Hennessy Mile Relay Award – Women's Indoor 4x400-meter: Gabby Thomas, Jade Miller, Karina Joiner, Zoe Hughes/Men's Indoor 4x400-meter: James Heckendorn, Alexander Moore, Matt Hurst, Myles Marshall
Through performance and attitude inspires the qualities of dedication, determination, competitive spirit, teamwork and high performance characteristic of Vincent Hennessy.

Women's Beyond the Call of Duty Award – Madeline Ankhelyi

Francis J. Haggerty Award for Excellence in Women's Track and Field – Jade Miller
This award honors the woman on the Harvard track team who seized opportunities and excelled, thereby greatly contributing to the success of the Harvard women's track & field team. 

Schick Sprint Award – James Heckendorn/Ngozi Musa
The award is presented annually to the Harvard sprinter who through consistent courage, ability, sportsmanship, & devotion to teams welfare, provides outstanding example & inspiration.

Gourdin Broad Jump Award – Anthony DeNitto/Gabby Thomas
The Harvard varsity long jumper whose conscientious efforts, competitive performance and overall character contribute notably to Harvard Track and the Harvard Community.

Ohiri Triple Jump Award – Efe Uwaifo, Simi Fajemisin
To be awarded to that triple jumper on the Harvard varsity track team who best exemplifies Chris Ohiri '62 , Nigerian Olympic Team 60' & 64', in the characteristics of enthusiasm, team loyalty, & excellence of performance. 

Rand Hurdle Award – Jay Hebert/Jade Miller
Presented to the Harvard hurdler who has contributed significantly by his outstanding character, excellence, leadership, team spirit or individual improvement to the best in Harvard Athletics.

Ed Stowell Award – Ian West/Simi Fajemisin
Presented to the field event athlete with exceptional enthusiasm, unbridled optimism, continued hard work, loyalty to the athletes, team and school and, most importantly aggressive eagerness to compete for team success.

McLaughlin Award – Anthony DeNitto
Presented annually to that Freshman of the track team, who, like James McLaughlin, distinguishes him or herself in exemplifying fellowship & sportsmanship

Jannergren "Overcoming Physical Adversity" Award – Brett Henderson/Sylvia Deppen
Has overcome great physical adversity over the course of his or her college career and become a consistent team contributor. 

Nelson Unsung Hero Award – Thomas Negron
To be awarded to that senior member of the Harvard track team who through years of perseverance, loyalty, & effort often unnoticed has made a vital contribution to his teammates.       

Robert W. Harwood Pole Vault Award – Marlena Sabatino/Ian West
The award is presented to the Harvard pole vaulter who through loyalty, effort, performance and conduct has made a significant contribution to Harvard and Harvard Track.

Gary Geissler Women's Unsung Hero Award – Itzel Vazquez-Rodriguez
The award presented to the female senior member of the Harvard track team who best embodies G's characteristics of unbridled passion for the sport, dedication to all of the student-athletes under his care, and for the heroic work done behind the scenes. 

Women's Most Outstanding Performer Award – Gabby Thomas
Awarded annually to that individual(s) selected by the coaches as having been the most outstanding and is usually awarded on the basis of the Indoor and Outdoor seasons combined.

Women's Most Valuable Performer Award – Gabby Thomas

McCurdy Beyond the Call of Duty Award – MVP – Efe Uwaifo

Treasurer's Award – Efe Uwaifo