Saretsky, 17 Track & Field Student-Athletes Earn All-Ivy Recognition

Saretsky, 17 Track & Field Student-Athletes Earn All-Ivy Recognition

Three Crimson runners earned multiple All-Ivy selections (Sideline Photos/The Ivy League).

PRINCETON, N.J. – After a strong performance at the Ivy League Heptagonal Championships where the women claimed their fourth-straight title and the men placed fifth overall, 17 student-athletes received All-Ivy League honors. Jason Saretsky, the William W. 'Bill' McCurdy Director of Track and Field/Cross Country, was named the Co-Coach of the Year on the women's side.

Saretsky earned women's Co-Coach of the Year honors for the second-consecutive year, as the Crimson tallied its fourth-straight indoor championship. Harvard recorded top-two finishes from 11 different events, including three relays.

Freshman Gabby Thomas earned four All-Ivy nods to lead the Crimson, posting victories in the 60 meters, 200 meters, long jump and 4x400 meter relay, along with seniors Autumne Franklin and Christi Scott and junior Jade Miller. Thomas is only the fourth student-athlete in Ivy history to capture four titles.

Franklin earned three All-Ivy awards, and was named the meet's Most Outstanding Track Performer after her victories in the 60 meter hurdles, 400 meters and 4x400 meter relay. She picked up the first team honor in the 60 meter hurdles for the fourth-consecutive year, becoming only the second hurdler in Ivy history to accomplish the feat.

Junior Nikki Okwelogu won the shot put for the third consecutive season to capture first team All-Ivy honors. Okwelogu was an All-American in the event a year ago, placing sixth nationally.

The women's distance medley relay team captured first place to secure Harvard's first victory in the event in program history. Seniors Paige Kouba and Kieran Gallagher, junior Jackie Modesett and sophomore Courtney Smith earned first team honors for their performance.

On the men's side, junior Efe Uwaifo won the triple jump for the second-consecutive season to earn All-Ivy first team recognition. He is the first repeat triple jump champion for Harvard since Samyr Laine '06 accomplished the feat.

The men's 4x800 meter relay team crossed the stripe ahead of the pack to claim first team honors. Sophomores Jonas Aranda and Gabe Montague, freshman Myles Marshall and senior Malik Epps made up the championship-winning team.

In addition to the program's many first team selections, Harvard tallied second team nods from freshman Ngozi Musa (60m), Miller (60m hurdles) and junior Brandon Price (5,000m).