Softball’s Brown Named Candidate for Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

Rachel Brown will serve as co-captain of the Crimson in 2012 (Harvard Athletic Communications).

Rachel Brown's Lowe's Senior Class Player Card

Senior co-captain Rachel Brown of the Harvard softball team has been named a candidate for the 2012 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, the organization announced Wednesday. Brown joins 29 other Division I softball players on the exclusive list, and is the only representative from a New England or Ivy League institution.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, Division I head coaches and fans who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

Through only three seasons of competition, Brown is the most decorated pitcher in the history of Harvard softball. A three-time All-Ivy League first team selection, Brown was tabbed league Rookie of the Year in 2009 and Pitcher of the Year in 2011. She also earned All-Region honors last season. During her junior year, Brown broke school season records in strikeouts (291), strikeouts per game (11.4), wins (21) and games started (26). She also led the Ivy League in strikeouts, earned runs average (1.90), wins and opposing batting average (.181), and broke the Ivy record for strikeouts in a season. For her career, she has been named league pitcher of the week on eight separate occasions.

For the complete list of candidate for the award, click here.