Sailing Captures First-Place Finish at Marchiando Trophy

Photo by Gil Talbot
Photo by Gil Talbot

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—The Harvard sailing team saw a successful weekend out on the water, with the coed team securing a first-place finish at the Marchiando Trophy hosted by MIT and an 11th-place effort at the BU Trophy. Additionally, the women's team raced to an impressive third-place finish at the Dellenbaugh Trophy hosted by Brown.

Posting a 16-6 record across two days of races, the Crimson edged out Boston College to claim the 2019 Lynne Marchiando Trophy. After only dropping two races in the first round of competition, Harvard advanced to the Gold Round on Sunday, where the Crimson secured its title with wins over Connecticut College (2-3-4), Dartmouth (1-2-4 DSQ) and Tufts (1-2-5). Harvard's lineup heading into the Marchiando Trophy featured Eli Burnes, Henry Burnes and Nicholas Karnovsky at skipper, while Lena Episalla, Eric Hansen, Jonas Nelle, Catherine Tang and Jessica Williams each spent time at crew.

At the Dellenbaugh Trophy, the Harvard women's crew earned a total 196 points to finish in third overall in a highly competitive field. The trio of Emma Kaneti, Emma Jakobson and Lisa van der Sluijs finished eighth in the A-Division, picking up 125 points towards Harvard's score. A second-place finish in the B-Division from skipper Taylor Gavula and crew Emily Wang ultimately propelled Harvard forward in the rankings to secure third. 

Closing out the weekend on the Charles River, the coed team fought through windy conditions to pick up an 11th-place finish at the BU Trophy. The duo of Matthew Dickey and Katherine Barkin finished 11th in the B-Division, adding 97 points to Harvard's overall score, while Jackson Wagner and Gayatri Balasubramanian finished third in the A-division for 48 points. 

Up Next 
The Crimson prepares for two races next weekend, April 6-7. The coed team will take on the NE Team Race Championship at Connecticut College, while the women's team will compete for the Emily Wick Trophy hosted by the U.S. Coast Guard Academy.