Sailing Set for Trio of Regattas

Sailing Set for Trio of Regattas

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – In a trio of races, the Harvard sailing team will take on the Szambecki Trophy Team Race hosted by Old Dominion, the BU Team Race hosted by BU and the Central Series 2 hosted by Mass Maritime this weekend March 24-25.

Old Dominion:
On Saturday, sailors will face winds from the north around 10 to 15 knots, diminishing to 5 to 10 knots in the afternoon, with waves of 2 feet. Weather on Sunday includes northeast winds around 10 to 15 knots, increasing to 15 to 20 knots with gusts up to 30 knots in the afternoon. Sailors could also see waves of 3-to-4 feet.

BU/Mass Maritime:
Weather on Saturday includes winds from the north around 5 to 10 knots with waves of 1-foot or less. On Sunday, sailors will see winds from the northeast around 15 to 20 knots with gusts up to 30 knots. Along with waves of 3- to 5-feet, there is also a chance of showers.

Last Time Out
In its third weekend of competition this spring, the Crimson posted a first-place finish in the Southern New England Team Race last weekend, March 17-18. The Crimson also made appearances in the Ike Geiger Team Race Trophy and the Vietor Trophy, earning third and eighth-place finishes, respectively.

Last Fall
Across fall competition, the Crimson earned 16 top-five finishes, four of which were first-place marks. Harvard competed in three regattas the weekend of Nov. 4-5, earning three top-10 finishes. At the Sister Esther Open, Jonas Nelle and Divya Arya secured a second-place finish in the B-Division, leading Harvard to a third-place victory. The Crimson hosted the Mike Horn Trophy, placing fourth after difficult weather only allowed for one round robin. Harvard finished its last weekend of fall racing with a fifth-place finish at the Hap Moore Team Race.

NEISA Short List Honorees
Junior Christine Gosioco and senior Nick Sertl have been named to the New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association's (NEISA) short lists prior to the start of the spring season. Gosioco has been added to the Babinau Crew of the Year list, while Sertl finds himself on the Coed Sailor of the Year list. Gosioco and Sertl sail together for the Crimson in the A-Division and had a successful fall season. The duo tallied five top-ten finishes in their regattas this fall, including a pair of first and second place finishes.

Lightening World Championships
Senior sailors Nick Sertl and Dylan Farrell competed internationally this fall, placing second in the Lightning World Championship after a five-day event. The regatta, which took place Nov. 22-25, featured 56 boats of competitors from around the world. The duo scored consistently in the top group and finished the event with a mere 40 points. After nine rounds, the pair completed the event with five top-five placements, including one first-place mark.

National Recognition
The Harvard sailing team was voted in the top-20 in Sailing World Magazine's latest poll on Nov. 16. The coed squad cracked the top-20 coming at 18 in the rankings with 47 votes. Sailing World's College Rankings are determined by an open coaches poll.

Leading the Fleet
Mike O'Connor is in the midst of his 20th season as the Harvard sailing team's head coach. Since he took over the Crimson program in 1997, Harvard has won a pair of national team race championships (2002, 2003), as well as a national coed championship (2003) and a women's national title (2005).

Captains of the Ship
Junior Nick Karnovsky and sophomore Jessica Williams were elected captains for the 2018 season. Karnovsky captured five top-10 placements in Harvard's regattas last fall. During his sophomore season, the Brookline, Mass. native split time in the B-Division of the New England Coed Championships, finishing with 175 points overall. Williams registered seven top-10 finished for the Crimson last fall. The Norfolk, Va. native recorded her highest placement at the Moody Trophy, finishing in second place.

What's Next?
Harvard will host the Central Series 3 next weekend, March 31-April 1, on the Charles River, while also traveling to the Marchiando Trophy Team Race at MIT and the Dellenbaugh Trophy at Brown.