Sailing Cruises into Third Weekend

Each of Harvard's juniors and seniors were honored for their academic performance (Office of Athletic Communications).
Each of Harvard's juniors and seniors were honored for their academic performance (Office of Athletic Communications).

The Harvard sailing team is ready to take on the third weekend of competition (Athletic Communications). 

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard sailing team enters the third weekend of competitions for the fall season. The schedule for the weekend of Sept. 24-25 features the Hood Trophy, the Amanda Trophy, the Chris Loder Trophy and the New England Singlehanded Championships.

On Saturday, sailors will expect to see light winds from the North/Northwest at 1-2 knots in Boston Harbor, while competitors in New London and Providence will see slightly stronger winds at 9-10 knots from the North/Northwest. All locations do not see rain in the forecast or waves above two feet. On Sunday, sailors will see winds at 5-10 knots out of the Northwest and seas of a foot or less in all four locations.
For an up-to-date forecast, click here.
About the Hood Trophy
This year marks the 34th-annual Professor Stedman Hood Trophy. The regatta is hosted by Tufts and will be held Sept. 24-25. At last year's competition, Harvard went for a head-to-head tiebreaker with MIT and finished in ninth place with 150 points.

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew):
A-Division: Nick Sertl/Christine Gosioco
B-Division: Jackson Wagner/Catherine Tang (Saturday only)
        Nick Digiovanni/Julia Lord(Sunday only)
About the Amanda Trophy
Harvard will send Lucy Wilmot and Divya Arya to compete in the A-Division and Catherine Kerner and Alejandra Resendiz to compete in the B-Division at the first-annual Amanda Trophy. The race will be hosted by Roger Williams in Providence, Rhode Island from Sept. 24-25, and sailors will race in FJs.

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew):
A-Division: Lucy Wilmot/Divya Arya
B-Division: Catherine Kerner/Alejandra Resendiz
About the Chris Loder Trophy
The Chris Loder Trophy will be hosted by MIT Sept. 24-25. Nick Karnovsky and Lena Episalla will sail in the A-Division with Victoria Marquez and Cara Kennedy-Cuomo in the B-Division. In last year's contest, Boston University took the trophy, Harvard did not compete.

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew):
A-Division: Nick Karnovsky/ Lena Episalla
B-Division: Victoria Marquez/Cara Kennedy-Cuomo

About the New England Singlehanded Championships
Andrew Puopolo, Jessica Williams and Sofia Mascia will compete at the New England Singlehanded Championships in lasers. The regatta will be held at Connecticut College Sept. 24-25. At the 2015 Men's New England Singlehanded Championship Juan Perdomo '17 took home the trophy, finishing with 65 points, a full ten points ahead of the closest competitor. At the 2015 Women's New England Singlehanded Championships, Taylor Ladd finished with 40 points; she surpassed her closest competitor from the U.S. Coast Guard Academy by two points to earn a fifth-place finish.

Projected Lineup:
A-Division: Andrew Puoppolo
B-Division: Jessica Williams
C-Division: Sofia Mascia
*All lineups are subject to change

Leading the Way
Head coach Michael O'Connor will lead Harvard in his 20th season at the helm. Since he took over the Crimson program in 1997, Harvard has won a pair of national team race championships (2002, 2003), as well as a national coed championship (2003) and a women's national title (2005). 

Captaining the Ship
Junior Nick Sertl and senior Nomin-Erdene Jagdagdorj were named captains for the 2016-17 season. Jagdagdori was named to the 2016 ICSA All-Academic Sailing Team.

Social Stream
Use the Social Stream on to stay connected with the Crimson on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this year. The Social Stream brings the conversation from all three platforms into one convenient location, allowing fans of all Harvard Athletics teams to monitor the action in real time.

What's Next?
The Crimson has seven regattas for the weekend of Oct. 1-2: the Danmark Trophy (at Coast Guard), the Regis Bowl (at Boston University), the Cornell women's regatta, the Hewitt Trophy (at Dartmouth), the Smith Trophy (at MIT), the Harvard Invitational on the Charles River and the Mystic Lake Invitational (at Tufts).