Sailing’s Opening Weekend Includes Five Regattas

Sailing’s Opening Weekend Includes Five Regattas

Harvard hosts the first of two invitationals during the opening weekend.     

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard sailing program will begin the 2015 season with five regattas this Saturday and Sunday, Sept. 12-13, including one of two Harvard Invitationals taking place at the Harvard Sailing Center on Sunday. The women's team will compete for the Toni Deutsch Trophy hosted by MIT, while the coed team will race for the Harry Anderson Trophy hosted by Yale, the Pine Trophy hosted by Coast Guard, and Central Series One hosted by Tufts. 

Social Stream

Use the Social Stream on to stay connected with the Crimson on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this year. The Social Stream brings the conversation from all three platforms into one convenient location, allowing fans of all Harvard Athletics teams to monitor the action in real time.

About the Harvard Invitational

The Crimson landed a seventh-place finish in last year's regatta and is looking to bring the crown back home this season after winning it in 2013.  

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): TBD

About the Toni Deutsch Trophy

MIT hosts the Toni Deutsch Regatta this weekend, where Coast Guard topped the 14 team field and Harvard placed ninth in the 2014 season. 

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Sophie Bermudez/Emma Wheeler | B-Division: Taylor Gavula/Normin Jagdagdorj

About the Harry Anderson Trophy

Yale hosts the Harry Anderson Regatta where the Bulldogs took the trophy and the Crimson placed 11th out of 18 teams last year. 

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Andrew Mollerus/Sydney Karnovsky | B-Division: Marek Zaleski/Julia Lord

About the Pine Trophy

In its 73rd annual event, the Crimson will compete at the Coast Guard-hosted regatta. Dartmouth took the trophy last year in the 10-team regatta. 

Projected Lineup*: A-Division: Nick Sertl/Kristina Jakobson/Jacob Bradt/Taylor Ladd 

About the Central Series One

At last year's Tufts Central Series One regatta, Harvard shut-out the six other teams and captured a first-place finish. 

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Nick DiGiovanni/Priscilla Russo | B-Division: Jackson Wagner/Olivia Kjorlien

*All boat pairings subject to change due to wind conditions 

On Saturday, sailors will see winds out of the Northwest in Boston and New Haven at 5 knots with waves at a foot or less. Both locations do not show a chance of rain showers during the day. Weather in New London will include Northeast winds around 5 knots with waves one foot or less and a slight chance of showers and thunderstorms in the afternoon. On Sunday, the student-athletes in New Haven will face Eastern winds around 10 knots becoming South in the afternoon, and could see thunderstorms develop late in the day. In Boston, there will be Eastern winds around 5 knots with waves one foot or less, some patchy fog, and a chance of thunderstorms. While sailing in New London, winds will come from the Southeast between 5-10 knots with seas one foot or less and a chance of showers.  

For up-to-date forecasts, click here.  

Last Season

Harvard finished the 2014-15 season with 14 top-five finishes and wins at the Central Series One, Norm Reid Trophy Team Race, and Hap Moore Trophy Team Race. Harvard wrapped up the season at the New England Dinghy Championship and the ICSA National Dinghy Championship placing sixth and 15th, respectively.  

Leading the Way

Head coach Michael O'Connor will lead Harvard in his 19th season at Harvard. Since he took over the Crimson program in 1997, Harvard has won a pair of national team race championships (2002, 2003), as well as a national coed championship (2003) and a women's national title (2005). 

Aye Aye Captain

Seniors Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovsky were named captains for a second straight year. Both were named to the 2015 ICSA All-Academic Sailing Team and Karnovsky was named to the ICSA All-America team as crew.  

Up Next

The Crimson return to the water with three regattas Sept. 19-20. The women's team will travel to Connecticut College to compete for the Stu Nelson Trophy while the coed teams will head to MIT and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy for the Nevins Trophy.