Sailing Hosts Mrs. Hurst Bowl, Eyes Three Other Trophies

Sailing Hosts Mrs. Hurst Bowl, Eyes Three Other Trophies

This is the first time since 2000 that the Crimson has had three vessels qualify for national championships (Athletic Communications).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Harvard sailing faces another busy weekend with five regattas in store, including hosting the Mrs. Hurst Bowl. The Crimson travels to Brown for the Hoyt Trophy, MIT/Northeastern for the Oberg Trophy and Boston College for the Central Series 6. 

Social Stream
Use the Social Stream on to stay connected with the Crimson on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube this year. The Social Stream brings the conversation from all four platforms into one convenient location, allowing fans of all Harvard Athletics teams to monitor the action in real time. 

Last Time Out
Nick Sertl, Jacob Bradt and Taylor Ladd qualified for the ICSA Match Race National Championship by winning the New England Match Race Championship. The Crimson also competed in the Truxtun Umsted Memorial Regatta (Navy) placing third among 19 teams, the FJ/NC Firefly Invitational (MIT) ranking seventh out of 14, the Captain Hurst Bowl (Dartmouth) registering a 14th-place mark, and the Yale Women's Interconference Regatta placing 17th. 

National Stage
This is the first time since 2000 that Harvard has had three vessels qualify for national championships:

  • Junior Juan Carlos Perdomo breezed past 27 other sailors en route to NEISA Men's Singlehanded Championship. Perdomo is the fourth member of the Crimson to win the NEISA Men's Singlehanded Championship and first since Kyle Kovacs '08 in 2008. The victory qualifies Perdomo for the ICSA Men's Singlehanded National Championship hosted by Old Dominion from Nov. 6-8.
  • Sophomore Taylor Ladd clinched the last spot to compete in the ICSA Women's National Championship after finishing fifth in the NEISA Women's Singlehanded Championship. Ladd is the first member of the Crimson to qualify for the regatta since Megan Watson '09 in 2008. She will be traveling to Old Dominion with Perdomo to compete in the ICSA Women's Singlehanded National Championship from Nov. 6-8, since he qualified for nationals in 2013 and placed second at the regatta.
  • Skipper Nick Sertl with crew Jacob Bradt and Taylor Ladd captured a first-place finish at the New England Match Race Championship Oct. 17-18. The victory marks the first time since 2001 that the Crimson has won the regatta. The trio travels to Charleston, South Carolina for the ICSA Match Race National Championship from Nov. 20-22, where Harvard last placed 10th at nationals in 2005. 

NEISA Coed Sailors of the Week
Junior Juan Carlos Perdomo was named NEISA Coed Sailor of the week on Sept. 30 after being crowned champion of the NEISA Men's Singlehanded Championship. Teammates Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovsky were also named NEISA Coed Sailors of the week on Oct. 14 for their first-place feat at the Moody Trophy. Nick Sertl, Jacob Bradt and Taylor Ladd were presented the honor as well after their victory at the New England Match Race Championship on Oct. 18. 

About the Mrs. Hurst Bowl
Harvard hosts its third regatta on the year where two divisions of pairings will sail in FJ dinghies. 

Projected Lineup*:  A-Division: Taylor Ladd / Emma Wheeler | B-Division: Taylor Gavula / Sydney Karnovsky 

About the Hoyt Trophy
Brown hosts two divisions of Z420's with 18 teams competing for the Hoyt Trophy at the two-day event. Harvard posted a 14th-place finish at last year's event. 

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Marek Zaleski / Julia Lord | B-Division: Nick Sertl / Nomin Jagdagdorj | Alt: Kevin Coakley, Jacob Bradt, Olivia Kjorlien

About the Oberg Trophy
The Crimson will send three divisions of FJ's and NC Firefly's to the combined MIT-and-Northeastern hosted Oberg Trophy to improve upon last year's sixth-place mark. 

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Nick DiGiovanni / Priscilla Russo | B-Division: Jackson Wagner / Divya Arya | C-Division: Andrew Puopolo / Catherine Tang (Sat.) / Lena Episalla (Sun.)

About the Central Series 6
Boston College hosts two divisions of vessels at the Central Series 6 where Harvard finished fifth last year.  

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Dylan Farrell / Zoe Kessler | B-Division: Nick Karnovsky / Alejandra Resendiz (Sat.) / Kristina Jakobson (Sun.)

*All boat pairings subject to change due to wind conditions 

In Boston and Rhode Island, pairings will sail with 5-10 knots of Northeast winds becoming Southeast in the afternoon on Saturday. Sunday brings South winds at 5-10 knots. Both days have waves predicted at one foot or less with a chance of showers Sunday morning. 

For up-to-date forecasts, click here.  

Leading the Way
Head coach Michael O'Connor will lead Harvard in his 19th season at Harvard. Since he took over the Crimson program in 1997, Harvard has won a pair of national team race championships (2002, 2003), as well as a national coed championship (2003) and a women's national title (2005).  

Aye Aye Captain
Seniors Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovsky were named captains for a second straight year. Both were named to the 2015 ICSA All-Academic Sailing Team and Karnovsky was named to the ICSA All-America team as crew.  

Up Next
The Crimson hosts The Victorian Urn while sending pairings to The Schell Trophy hosted by MIT and The Nickerson Trophy hosted by Tufts from Oct. 31-Nov. 1.