Five Regattas Await Sailing Team

Five Regattas Await Sailing Team

Harvard continues its fall schedule with sailors traveling to Salve Regina, Yale, Navy, Dartmouth and MIT (Athletic Communications).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard sailing team will vie for five trophies this weekend as it ventures to the New England Match Race Championship (Yale), the Women's Interconference Regatta (Yale), the Truxton Amsted Memorial Regatta (Navy), the Captain Hurst Bowl (Dartmouth) and the FJ/FF Invite (MIT).

Social Stream
Use the Social Stream on to stay connected with the Crimson on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this year. The Social Stream brings the conversation from all three platforms into one convenient location, allowing fans of all Harvard Athletics teams to monitor the action in real time.

Last Time Out
The Harvard sailing team won the Moody Trophy, hosted by Rhode Island, as the A-division pairing of senior captains Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovky set the pace. The B-division pairing of senior Marek Zaleski and junior Julia Lord assisted Harvard in the triumph with five top-five marks out of the seven races. Both vessels combined for 71 points which helped them secure a 16-point lead over second-place Roger Williams.

NEISA Coed Sailors of the Week
Junior Juan Carlos Perdomo was named NEISA Coed Sailor of the week on Sept. 30 after being crowned champion of the NEISA Men's Singlehanded Championship. Teammates Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovsky were also named NEISA Coed Sailors of the week on Oct. 14 for their first-place feat at the Moody Trophy which was held from Oct. 10-11.

Fourth Harvard Men's Singlehanded Champion
Junior Juan Carlos Perdomo breezed past 27 other sailors en route to NEISA Men's Singlehanded Championship. The junior took over the lead early in the event, winning race four before going on to finish in the top-five in eight of the remaining 10 races.

Perdomo is the fourth member of the Crimson to win the NEISA Men's Singlehanded Championship and first since Kyle Kovacs '08 in 2008. Perdomo also competed in the championship as a freshman, placing second.

Ladd Heads to ICSA Women's Singlehanded Championship
Sophomore Taylor Ladd clinched the last spot to compete in the ICSA Women's National Championship after finishing fifth in the NEISA Women's Singlehanded Championship. Ladd is the first member of the Crimson to qualify for the regatta since Megan Watson '09 in 2008. 

About the New England Match Race Championship
Also named the Larry White Trophy, Harvard last won the regatta in 2002. Hosted by Salve Regina, the race is being sailed in Ynglings with a crew of three including the skipper. This is the first time the Crimson will look to qualify for the Match Race Nationals.

Projected Lineup*:  Nick Sertl / Jake Bradt / Taylor Ladd

About the Women's Interconference Regatta
The women head to Yale to race in the Women's Interconference Regatta where they placed 11th out of 18 teams last year. They will sail in Z420's and FJ dinghies against an array of teams from different conferences.

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Sophie Bermudez / Emma Wheeler | B-Division: Taylor Gavula / Kristina Jakobson

About the Truxton Amsted Memorial Regatta
The Crimson will travel to Annapolis, Maryland to compete in the Truxton Amsted Memorial Regatta hosted by Navy. With a total of four divisions, sailors and pairings will navigate in Z420's, FJ's, Laser and Radial vessels. 

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Andrew Mollerus / Sydney Karnovsky | B-Division: Marek Zaleski / Julia Lord | C-Division: Juan Carlos Perdomo | D-Division: Andrew Puopolo

About the Captain Hurst Bowl
Three divisions of pairings will travel to Dartmouth to contend for the Captain Hurst Bowl sailing in 420's in the two-day regatta. The Crimson posted a 12th-place finish out of 18 this time last year.

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew):
 A-Division: Nick DiGiovanni / Priscilla Russo | B-Division: Jackson Wagner / Olivia Kjorlien | C-Division: Dylan Farrell / Nomin Jagdagdorj

About the FJ/FF Invite
Hosted by MIT, Harvard will race in Firefly and FJ vessels in the one-day regatta. The Crimson placed second at last years' regatta.

Projected Lineup* (Skipper/Crew): A-Division: Nick Karnovsky / Alejandra Resendiz | B-Division: Bennett Capozzi / Christine Gosioco

*All boat pairings subject to change due to wind conditions 

Leading the Way
Head coach Michael O'Connor will lead Harvard in his 19th season at Harvard. Since he took over the Crimson program in 1997, Harvard has won a pair of national team race championships (2002, 2003), as well as a national coed championship (2003) and a women's national title (2005).  

Aye Aye Captain
Seniors Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovsky were named captains for a second straight year. Both were named to the 2015 ICSA All-Academic Sailing Team and Karnovsky was named to the ICSA All-America team as crew.  

Up Next
Harvard returns to action on the water as they compete in another five regattas the weekend of Oct. 24-25. The Crimson will compete in the Mrs. Hurst Bowl at home, the Hoyt Trophy (Dartmouth), Oberg Trophy, MIT/Northeastern, Central Series 6 (Rhode Island), Central Series 6 (Boston College) and the URI Women's Invitational (Rhode Island).