Perdomo Earned Griswold Trophy at ICSA Singlehanded Championships; Coeds Compete at Three Regattas

Perdomo Earned Griswold Trophy at ICSA Singlehanded Championships; Coeds Compete at Three Regattas

Perdomo became the first Crimson sailor to earn the Griswold Trophy since Clay Johnson '08 did so in 2005 (photo courtesy Athletic Communications). 

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.Juan Carlos Perdomo of the Harvard sailing coed team sailed to a runner-up performance at the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association Singlehanded Championships to earn the Griswold Trophy. The No. 11 Crimson coeds competed at three regattas: 2nd Sister Ester Open, Hap Moore Trophy and the Mike Horn Trophy.

Perdomo was the first Harvard sailor to compete at the national championship in six years and the first freshman in Crimson history to claim second-place and first since Clay Johnson '08 did so in 2005. He secured second place after the first day of competition and never looked back over the next two days to post 74 points just 10 points behind first-place finisher Georgetown sophomore Greg Martinez. Perdomo won six races and finished in the top-10 of the 18 heats.

At the 2nd Sister Esther Open, 20 teams competed in 420s in two divisions on Breton Cove. Harvard tallied 162 overall points to claim fifth place. In the A division, sophomore skipper Marek Zaleski and freshman Emma Wheeler put on an impressive performance. The sophomore, freshman boat notched five victories and finished in the top-four nine times for 55 points and first place. Zaleski and Wheeler's 55 points was 18 points ahead of its competitors.

Rookies Matthew Mollerus and Olivia Kjorlien, skipper and crew, respectively, finished with 107 points in the B division boat.  The rookies' ninth-place performance was highlighted by a win in the sixth race of competition and six single-digit finishes.

On the Thames River, Harvard raced to an 11-3 record in the four round robin regatta the featured 12 teams. The Crimson tied Roger Williams (11-3), but the Hawks won the breaker to be crowned the 2013 Hap Moore Trophy. Juniors Brian Drumm, Michael Drumm and Gram Slattery and sophomore Andrew Mollerus rounded out Harvard's four skippers. Senior Isabel Ruane, sophomores Jacob Bradt and Sydney Karnovksy and freshman Bennett Capozzi crewed the Crimson vessels.

Six teams gathered in Cambridge for the Mike Horn Trophy on Saturday. Three round robin races were raced in northwest breezes ranging in velocity from 6 to 15 knots. The Crimson sailors went 1-14 for sixth place.

The coeds fall season come to a close next weekend when Harvard sails at the Atlantic Coast Tournament at Connecticut College.