Harvard Sailors Kopp, Pierson Named All-America

Harvard Sailors Kopp, Pierson Named All-America

AUSTIN, Texas—Senior Brendan Kopp and sophomore Sarah Pierson of the New England-champion Harvard sailing team were recognized as All-Americans at the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association’s year-end banquet Friday night.

Kopp, a team captain, was named to the list of All-America coed skippers and Pierson was selected as an All-America crew at the banquet following the conclusion of the ICSA/Gill Coed Dinghy National Championship, where the duo led Harvard to a fifth-place finish.

Pierson and Kopp placed second among 18 teams in the A division at the national regatta, just four points out of first place. They won three of their 13 races, placed in the top four on eight occasions and finished outside the top half of the field just twice.

The two athletes also teamed up for a fifth-place division finish to lead the Crimson to a third-place showing in the ICSA semifinals. The All-America duo previously keyed Harvard’s first New England Dinghy Championship victory in 11 years by winning the A division in the league championship regatta and earned first-team All-New England honors.

2012 ICSA All-America Team
ICSA Coed All-Americans
Alec Anderson (Tortola, B.V.I.) – Roger Williams
Evan Aras (Annapolis, Md.) – Georgetown
Chris Barnard (Newport Beach, Calif.) – Georgetown
Sam Blouin (Tampa, Fla.) – Hobart and William Smith
Anne Haeger (Lake Forest, Ill.) – Boston College
Brendan Kopp (Fairfield, Conn.) – Harvard
Joe Kutschenreuter (East Troy, Wis.) – Wisconsin
Graham Landy (Norfolk, Va.) – Yale
Kevin Laube (San Diego, Calif.) – Stanford
Mac Mace (Newport Beach, Calif.) – College of Charleston
Joe Morris (Annapolis, Md.) – Yale
Ben Spector (Santa Clarita, Calif.) – College of Charleston
Oliver Toole (Santa Barbara, Calif.) – Stanford

ICSA Honorable Mention Coed All-Americans
Austen Anderson (Northport, N.Y.) – Hobart and William Smith
Sean Bouchard (Bermuda) – Roger Williams
Cam Cullman (Rye, N.Y.) – Yale
Joshua Greenslade (Bermuda) – St. Mary’s (Md.)
Zeke Horowitz (Sarasota, Calif.) – College of Charleston
Colin Smith (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) – Brown

ICSA Crew All-Americans
Alyssa Aitken (Sandwich, Mass.) – College of Charleston
Sophie Bellacosa (Winchester, Mass.) – Roger Williams
Katy Canty (Vero Beach, Fla.) – Georgetown
Louisa Chafee (Warwick, R.I.) – Brown
Perry Emsiek (Corona del Mar, Calif.) – College of Charleston
Rebecca Evans (Cohasset, Mass.) – Georgetown
Molly Forbes (Edina, Minn.) – Wisconsin
Patrick Hession (Milton, Mass.) – Boston College
Hilary Kenyon (Wayzata, Minn.) – Georgetown
Chris Klevan (Norfolk, Va.) – Hobart and William Smith
Saverio Maldari (Andover, Mass.) – Navy
Heather May (Newport Beach, Calif.) – Yale
Laura McKenna (Palo Alto, Calif.) – Boston College
Kelly Ortel (Annapolis, Md.) – Stanford
Catherine Pelo (Scituate, Mass.) – Hobart and William Smith
Sarah Pierson (Winter Park, Fla.) – Harvard
Emily Reich (Oak Bluffs, Mass.) – Old Dominion
Kelly Stannard (Salem, Conn.) – Roger Williams
Stephanie Tong (Hong Kong, China) – MIT
Elizabeth Wilsterman (Winchester, Mass.) – Connecticut College 

ICSA Women’s All-Americans
Emily Billing (Clearwater, Fla.) – Yale
Sydney Bolger (Long Beach, Calif.) – Georgetown
Atlantic Brugman (Barcelona, Spain) – Connecticut College
Emily Dellenbaugh (Easton, Conn.) – Brown
Marlena Fauer (New York, N.Y.) – Yale
Anne Haeger (Lake Forest, Ill.) – Boston College
Amy Hawkins (Ocean Gate, N.J.) – Rhode Island
Morgan Kiss (Holland, Mich.) – Yale
Sarah Mace (Newport Beach, Calif.)– Stanford

ICSA Honorable Mention Women’s All-Americans
Sky Adams (Santa Barbara, Calif.) – Brown
Mary Hall (Seminole, Fla.) – Navy
Deirdre Lambert (Cumberland, Maine) – Dartmouth
Natalie Salk (Jamestown, R.I.) – Tufts