Harvard Sailing Tops the Ivy League

Harvard Sailing Tops the Ivy League

Alan Palmer skippered the A-division team for the Crimson in Harvard's victory at Kings Point (Gil Talbot).

KINGS POINT, N.Y. – The Harvard coed sailing team notched its second victory of the season and finished atop the Ivy League standings by capturing the Owen and Mosbacher-Knapp Trophies at Kings Point over the weekend. The Crimson also finished seventh at the Boston Dinghy Cup, eighth at the Boston University Bridge Invitational and fourth at the Women’s Duplin Trophy.

The Owen Trophy featured 16 teams participating in two divisions of racing. Each division completed 16 races over the two days. After winning two races and finishing in the top three seven in a total of seven races, the Harvard A-division team, skippered by Alan Palmer and crewed by Ryan Byrne and Meghan Wareham, finished with a low score of 66.

The B-division squad, skippered by Tedd Himler and crewed by Sarah Pierson and Wareham, notched an even lower score, capturing two more race wins with 12 top-three race finishes, to finish with a low score of 52. The Crimson’s combined score of 118 bested second-place Yale by 23 points to win the Ivy title and Mosbacher-Kanpp Trophy.

At the 82nd Boston Dinghy Cup, hosted by Harvard, the Crimson finished in seventh place with a score of 455, just three points behind Rhode Island. Three divisions competed in the regatta with each sailing 18 races. Harvard’s B division duo of Brendan Kopp and Alma Lafler finished in first place with a score of 84, nine ahead of Connecticut College. Brown won the regatta with a score of 316.

The Crimson grabbed an eighth-place finish with a score of 223 at the BU Bridge Invitational, which featured 15 teams. Tufts won the event with a score of 87.

The Harvard women’s sailing team took fourth at the Duplin Trophy, hosted by Tufts. The regatta, a team-racing event, was won by Boston College over the host Jumbos via a head-to-head race after each school finished with 16-6 records. Harvard completed the regatta with a 10-11 record.