Harvard Sailing Wins First Regatta of the Spring, Captures Sharpe Trophy

Alma Lafler (left) and Teddy Himler (right) were two sailors that helped the Crimson capture the Sharpe Trophy (Gil Talbot).

BRISTOL, R.I. – The Harvard coed sailing team won the first regatta of the spring season, bringing home the Sharpe Trophy Sunday. The team-racing event was hosted by Roger Williams after ice on the Charles River forced a venue change.

Alan Palmer, Tedd Himler and Brendan Kopp represent the Crimson as skippers, while Alma Lafler, John Stokes and Meghan Wareham sailed as crews for Harvard at the Sharpe Trophy.

After first day of sailing Saturday and 10 races, the Crimson sat atop the leaderboard, having won nine races and dropped only one. Roger Williams ended Day 1 in second with seven wins and three loses.

The Crimson won six of its seven races Sunday, finishing with 16 total wins and two losses to earn the victory. Roger Williams finished in second with an 11-7 record, while MIT came in third after going 10-8 in the six-team event.

The Harvard coed team will be back on the water March 13 at the 18th St. Mary’s Team Race, while the women’s squad will make its first appearance of 2011 at the 28th Women’s Intersectional at Navy.

1) Harvard: 16-2
2) RWU: 11-7
3) MIT: 10-8
4) Brown: 7-11
5) BC: 5-10
6) Yale: 2-13