Harvard Sailing Finishes Third at Sherman Hoyt Trophy

Harvard Sailing Finishes Third at Sherman Hoyt Trophy

Lafler (front) and Himler (back) helped Harvard finish third at the Hoyt Trophy (photo courtesy Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard coed sailing team finished third at the Sherman Hoyt Trophy, hosted by Brown, while the women's sailors registered a sixth-place finish at the Stu Nelson Women's regatta over the weekend.

The 18-team Hoyt Trophy was shortened to a one-day event as sailing was cancelled on Sunday due to a lack of wind. The A-division pair of Alan Palmer and Meghan Wareham finished in the top four in half of the eight races on Saturday, including a victory in the fourth race. The duo trailed only regatta winner Boston College and runner-up Roger Williams in the division.

The B-division team of Tedd Himler and Alma Lafler posted three top-four finishes in the six Saturday races, including a first-place finish in the opening race of the division. The B division was a close-knit group as Harvard with 48 points in sixth place trailed third-place Brown by only 13 points.

At the 18-team Stu Nelson Women's regatta, the Crimson finished in sixth place with 144 points, one ahead of Eckerd. Alexandra Jumper and Emily Lambert were paired together in the A division for Harvard, finishing fifth with 64 points, two behind fourth-place MIT. In yet another closely contested B division, the 80 points Harvard tallied for12th were only 12 place were only 12 more than seventh-place Brown.

In the three-division, 18-team Oberg Trophy, Harvard finished 12th. The A-division team of Brendan Kopp and William White captured first with 53 points, finishing in the top three in five of 10 races in the division.

Six freshmen competed for Harvard on Oct. 19 in the Fourth Midweek Tech regatta. Ames Lyman and Dianna Powell finished 11th for the Crimson with 67 points, tied with Wellesley's top pair. Harvard's other two groups of sailors finished 12th and 13th.

Harvard is slated to sail in three regattas this weekend: the Erwin Schell Trophy, the Women's Victorian Coffee Urn and the New England Freshman Championship.