Harvard Sailing Captures Marchiando Trophy

Harvard Sailing Captures Marchiando Trophy

Alan Palmer helped lead the Crimson to a Marchiando Trophy title (photo courtesy David Silverman).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—The Harvard sailing team won 14 of its 15 races in Sunday’s round robins to claim the Lynne Marchiando Trophy in team racing hosted by MIT on the Charles River. The Crimson also placed sixth at the Longfellow Bridge Invitational/Central Series Four.

Harvard posted a 5-7 record in Saturday’s first two round robins, finishing fifth to narrowly miss advancing to compete for the Friis Trophy at Tufts. The host Jumbos went on to win that trophy.

The Crimson then dominated the other five competing schools Sunday. Harvard swept Boston University, Connecticut College, Dartmouth, Salve Regina and Vermont in the first two round robins Sunday and suffered only a single loss to Dartmouth in the third round. Boston University finished second in the Marchiando competition with a 10-5 record.

Alan Palmer, John Stokes and Emily Lambert skippered for Harvard. Meghan Wareham, Michelle Konstadt, Alexandra Jumper and Winston Yan were the Crimson’s crews Saturday, while Konstadt, Quincy Bock and Alma Lafler handled crew duties Sunday.

Competing in a field of 16 schools in the Longfellow Invitational, Colin Santangelo skippered Harvard to a sixth-place A division finish with 82 points and Jason Michas’ B-division entry totaled 73 points for seventh place. Boston College won the regatta.