Men’s Tennis Wins ECAC Team Championships

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The No. 30 Harvard men's tennis team won the 2015 ECAC Championships Monday afternoon at the Murr Center, defeating the No. 2 seed Dartmouth, 5-0.

"It was a great weekend overall," said associate head coach Andrew Rueb. "The Ivy League is getting tougher and tougher and there are so many nationally ranked teams. We squeaked by a rock solid Princeton team in the semifinals. In the finals against Dartmouth, we had to play some of our best tennis of the year to win."  

Senior captain Denis Nguyen again sealed the victory for the Crimson with a 6-2, 6-4 win over No. 60 Dovydas Sakinis. Nguyen and sophomore Brian Yeung captured the doubles point with a 7-6 (1) win over Sakinis and Chris Kipouras.

"Our team is working hard in practice and it is starting to translate into matches," continued Rueb. "I'm proud of the effort they are putting in each and every day. They are a tough bunch and have been very resilient all year. But there is a lot of work still to be done. Columbia has set the bar for the league by qualifying for the National Indoors. They are certainly the front-runners this season ranked in the top 15.

"Congrats to our senior class - Denis Nguyen, Alex Steinroeder, Shaun Chaudhuri and Henry Steer. They have been a huge part of our success the past few years and are great ambassadors for Harvard and the Crimson tennis team."  

Freshman Kenny Tao started off singles play, besting Max Fliegner (6-1, 6-4). Senior captain Alex Steinroeder gave Harvard a 3-0 advantage after a straight-sets victory over Diego Pedraza. Finishing at the same time, Nguyen and junior Nicky Hu each earned straight-set wins, as Hu downed Ciro Riccardi (7-5, 6-2).  

The Crimson will be back in action at the Murr Center Saturday, Feb. 21 against Minnesota.

#30 Harvard 5, Dartmouth 0


No. 1 Denis Nguyen (Harvard) def. Dovydas Sakinis (Dartmouth) 6-2, 6-4
*Match concluded at: 3:13pm
No. 2 Sebastian Beltrame (Harvard) vs. Chris Kipouras (Dartmouth) DNF- 3-6, 6-3, 2-1
No. 3 Nicky Hu (Harvard) def. Ciro Riccardi (Dartmouth) 7-5, 6-2
*Match concluded at: 3:13pm
No. 4 Alex Steinroeder (Harvard) def. Diego Pedraza (Dartmouth) 6-1, 7-5
*Match concluded at: 3:02pm
No. 5 Kenny Tao (Harvard) def. Max Fliegner (Dartmouth) 6-1, 6-4
*Match concluded at: 2:58pm
No. 6 Shaun Chaudhuri (Harvard) vs. Max Schmidt (Dartmouth) DNF- 4-6, 2-3

No. 1 Denis Nguyen/Brian Yeung (Harvard) def. Dovydas Sakinis/Chris Kipouras (Dartmouth) 7-6 (1)
Match concluded at: 1:48pm
No. 2 Brendan Tannenbaum/Max Schmidt (Dartmouth) def. Nicky Hu/Sebastian Beltrame (Harvard) 6-3
Match concluded at: 1:36pm
No. 3 vs. Alex Steinroeder/Grant Solomon (Harvard) def. Diego Pedraza/Sam Todd (Dartmouth) 6-3
Match concluded at: 1:31pm