Men’s Swimming and Diving’s Grant Posts 4th-Fastest 200 Back Time at Minnesota Invitational

Action photo of Will Grant
Photo Courtesy: Billie Weiss.

Preliminary Results | Platform Diving ResultsFinals Results

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Harvard men's swimming and diving completed the four-day Minnesota Invitational on Saturday at Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center on the University of Minnesota campus.

First-year Will Grant led the way for the Crimson as he posted the fourth-fastest 200 back time in school history, finishing his preliminary heat in 1:42.47, to qualify for the evening finals session. In the championship round, Grant came in seventh place with a time of 1:43.15.

Grant was one of three Crimson swimmers to advance to the 200 back finals, joining Jared Simpson and Levente Bathory, who both registered season bests. Simpson logged a time of 1:46.52 (24th place), which was nearly four seconds better than his previous 2019-20 best (1:50.34). Bathory, meanwhile, touched the pad in 1:48.36, surpassing his previous season PR of 1:52.94.

Harvard also had three finalists in the 200 fly and they all recorded their fastest times of the current campaign. Jake Johnson's prelim performance was a tad faster than his finals effort (1:46.28-1:46.44), but he still finished the event in 14th place. Noah Brune (1:48.26) and Daniel Kim (1:48.93) rounded out the contingent.

As a team, the Crimson earned 171 points for the meet to come in seventh place in the seven-team field.

Harvard Highlights
- Corban Rawls and Marcus Holmquist each recorded season bests in the finals of the 100 free. Rawls went 44.59 to wipe out his previous 2019-20 best of 46.29. Holmquist, meanwhile, completed the race in 45.35, which was nearly one second faster than his previous best (46.32).
- Daniel Chang logged a top-15 effort in the 200 breast, coming in 15th place with a mark of 1:57.95. His fastest time this season prior to Saturday was 2:00.57. Jared Simpson also qualified for the finals and finished in 2:01.01. His preliminary performance was a season best (2:00.03).
- Ryan Linnihan, Bathory, Holmquist and Rawls formed the 400 free relay that turned in a season-best 2:58.29.
- Grant (200 back), Chang (200 breast) and Johnson (200 fly) all reached the NCAA B-qualifying standard.

Next Up
Harvard returns to action tomorrow, when it competes in the non-team-scoring portion of the Minnesota Invitational. The LCM time trial event is slated for a 9 a.m. CT start.