Men's Swimming and Diving Wraps Up 2010-11 Season With Annual Awards Banquet

From left to right: Michael Dunn, Jamie Mannion, Douwe Yntema, Justin Davidson, Zac Ranta, Blake Lewkowitz, Evan Schindewolf and Will Heyburn (Photo Courtesy: Harvard Men's Swimming and Diving).

The Harvard men’s swimming and diving team capped a successful 2010-11 campaign with its annual awards banquet Saturday at the Harvard Club of Boston. The team recognized its eight seniors and handed out seven team awards at the event.

Senior diver Zac Ranta was presented with the Stowell Trophy as the most improved senior on the squad. Ranta capped a successful tenure with the Crimson with a runner-up finish in the three-meter competition at the 2011 Ivy League Championships and was presented with the Ron Keenhold Award as the meet’s career high-point diver.

Senior captains Douwe Yntema and Justin Davidson shared the Harold S. Ulen Trophy for outstanding senior leadership, and Robert Newell was awarded the Eugene B. Wyman Trophy, an award that recognizes the highest point-scorer in dual competition. Newell competed in the backstroke and butterfly during his junior season, placing third in the 200 back at the Ivy Championships.

Freshman swimmer Chris Satterthwaite and sophomore diver Michael Stanton received the William J. Brooks Trophy, given annually to the swimmer and diver that contribute the most to the team’s success. Satterthwaite picked up three All-Ivy second-team accolades for the 100 freestyle and 400 and 800 free relays, while Stanton successfully defended his title on the one-meter board at the league championship meet.

Junior Niall Janney was the final award winner of the afternoon, taking home the Reid Jorgensen Trophy as the most improved member of the junior class. Janney swam the butterfly and individual medley during the year and took third in the 400 IM and fourth in the 200 butterfly at the Ivy Championships.

The team also took time to honor the eight seniors on the 2010-11 squad: Davidson, Ranta, Yntema Michael Dunn, Will Heyburn, Blake Lewkowitz, Jamie Mannion and Evan Schindewolf. The class of 2011 helped Harvard to an Ivy League Championship in 2008 and perfect Ivy League seasons in 2007-08 and 2010-11.