Men's Swimming and Diving Looks to Reclaim League Title as Ivy League Championships Host

Harvard is after its 21st league title this weekend at the Ivy League Championships (Harvard Athletic Communications).

 Ivy League Championship Meet Information

Harvard Seniors: On Hosting the 2011 Ivy League Championships

The Particulars
For the first time since the 2007-08 season, the Harvard men's swimming and diving team will host the Ivy League Championships March 3-5 at Blodgett Pool. The Crimson is looking to capture its 21st league title.

Last Year's Meet
Harvard amassed 1,341.5 points, second only to champion Princeton, in a second-place finish at the 2010 Ivy League Championships at Princeton's DeNunzio Pool. The title marked the 19th in program history for the Tigers.

Alex Meyer '10 led the Crimson over the course of the three days, dominating the distance events to earn valuable points for Harvard. For his efforts, Meyer received the Harold S. Ulen Award as the career high point swimmer at the meet, and the Phil Moriarty Award for the high point swimmer at the 2010 championships. Then-freshman Michael Stanton controlled the boards in his first Ivy Championship meet, claiming both the one- and three-meter titles and earning the Karl B. Michael Award as the top-scoring diver at the meet.

Meet History
Harvard holds the all-time record for team wins at the Ivy Championships with 20 meet crowns. Princeton is close behind with 19 total titles, followed by Yale (nine), and Penn (one). Brown, Columbia, Cornell and Dartmouth have yet to claim an Ivy title. At least a share of the league crown has gone to either Harvard or Princeton every since 1971 when Penn won the outright title. The last time another team had a share of the league championship was in 1993, when Harvard and Yale were co-Ancient Eight champions.

The 2010-11 Regular Season
For the sixth time under current head coach Tim Murphy, Harvard went undefeated in league action in 2010-11. Harvard started the year with sizeable wins over Dartmouth (222-78), Cornell (216-82) and Columbia (196-102) and kicked off the New Year with a 190-104 win over Brown. Harvard downed Penn, 197-103, to move to 5-0 on the year and capped off its perfect regular season at the HYP meet, topping Yale, 266-87, and Princeton, 189-164. The last time Harvard entered the Ivy Championships with an unblemished record was the 2007-08 season, when it claimed the Ivy title at Blodgett Pool.

On the Horizon
After the completion of the Ivy Championships, Harvard will send divers to the NCAA Zone Diving Championships in Annapolis, Md., March 11. The NCAA Championships will be held in Minneapolis, Minn., March 24-27.