Harvard Claims Three Events in Opener Against Texas A&M

Pictured: Freshman Owen Wurzbacher won the 200 breaststroke in his first collegiate meet.
Photo courtesy: David Silverman Photography

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- The Harvard men’s swimming and diving team opened its season Friday against Texas A&M in a non-conference dual meet at Blodgett Pool. The Crimson won three events, but fell to the Aggies, 131.5-102.5.

Senior Mason Brunnick claimed Harvard’s first victory of the season, as he won the 500 freestyle by touching the wall in 4:39.12. Co-captain Tommy Gray swam fourth in that same race, finishing in 4:49.97. Freshman Owen Wurzbacher led a 1-2-3 finish in the 200 breaststroke at his first collegiate meet, narrowly edging teammate Justin Davidson. Wurzbacher swam the race in 2:07.66, while Davidson, a junior, posted a time of 2:07.69. Junior Evan Schindewolf was third with a mark of 2:16.41.

Harvard also claimed first in the 400 freestyle relay, as the foursome of sophomores Nicholas DuCille, Eric Taylor and Matthew McLean and freshman Brendan McIntee cruised past Texas A&M with a collective time of 3:07.59.The Crimson earned several second-place finishes, including in the 1000 freestyle. Brunnick was second in 9:34.56, while co-captain Alex Meyer placed third in 9:36.72. In the 50 freestyle, DuCille finished second with a time of 21.16, just ahead of junior Will Heyburn’s mark of 21.75.

Sophomore Niall Janney grabbed the wall in 1:53.73 for second place in the 200 IM, while Wurzbacher raced third in 1:54.93. In the 200 butterfly, junior Douwe Yntema was third in 1:53.81, while sophomore Ross Ford came in fourth with a mark of 1:54.49. Sophomore Robert Newell claimed second in the 200 backstroke event, posting a time of 1:53.38. On the one-meter board, freshman Michael Stanton was second in his collegiate debut, scoring 296.70. Senior Zac Ranta earned Harvard’s best score in the three-meter diving competition, amassing 314.70 points.

Harvard will face Cornell and Dartmouth in a tri-meet Saturday in Ithaca, N.Y. Action gets underway at 1 p.m.