Top-Ranked Men’s Squash Takes Down No. 4 Penn, 8-1, Advances to National Championship Game Sunday

Top-Ranked Men’s Squash Takes Down No. 4 Penn, 8-1, Advances to National Championship Game Sunday

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Harvard men's squash team took down No. 4 Penn, 8-1, in the semifinal round of the national tournament Saturday at Yale. The Crimson advance to the College Squash Association's National Championship (Potter Cup) with the win. The title clash will take place on Sunday, Feb. 17, at 2:45 p.m. at Yale. Harvard will take on the winner of the Trinity and Rochester matchup.

The Crimson were led by first-year Marwan Tarek, who served as the team's No. 2, taking down Penn's Aly Abou El Einen, 11-3, 11-7, 11-7. Junior Timothy Brownell got past David Yacobucci, 11-5, 9-11, 11-7, 11-3, while Sophomore Samuel Scherl played well against James Flynn, earning the victory, 11-8, 8-11, 11-1, 11-4. 

Junior Saadeldin Abouaish continued his winning ways against Michael Mehl, 11-4, 11-1, 11-8. Junior Sean Hughes earned the team's first match victory of the day with a 11-9, 11-7, 11-4 victory against Karim Tarek. First-year George Crowne added a 3-0 win against Yash Bhargava, 11-5, 12-10, 11-8. Sophomore Adam Corcoran and senior Alexi Gosset also added 3-0 victories in the team's win.

Harvard Highlights:

  • Harvard extends its all-time series record against Penn to 78-3. 
  • This is the Crimson's second win against Penn this year after besting them, 6-3, at the beginning of the month.
  • Abouaish moves to 10-0 on the season with his 3-0 victory. 
  • Harvard currently has an all-time series record of 37-29 against Trinity and 11-4 vs. Rochester.
  • The Crimson defeated Trinity earlier this season, 8-1, while also taking down Rochester, 7-2.

Up Next:
Harvard advances to the National Championship and attempts to claim its 26th Potter Cup in program history. The championship will be held on Sunday at 2:45 p.m. at Yale. The team will await the winner of the Rochester and Trinity matchup. 

Harvard def. Penn, 8-1

New Haven, Conn.


Andrew Douglas def. Victor Crouin, 11-9, 11-9, 5-11, 4-11, 11-8

Marwan Tarek def. Aly Abou El Einen, 11-3, 11-7, 11-7

Timothy Brownell def. David Yacobucci, 11-5, 9-11, 11-7, 11-3

Samuel Scherl def. James Flynn, 11-8, 8-11, 11-1, 11-4

Saadeldin Abouaish def. Michael Mehl, 11-4, 11-1, 11-8

Sean Hughes def. Karim Tarek, 11-9, 11-7, 11-4

George Crowne def. Yash Bhargava, 11-5, 12-10, 11-8

Adam Corcoran def. Wil Hagen, 11-3, 11-3, 11-6

Alexi Gosset def. Jonathan Zeitels, 11-6, 11-8, 11-4