Farag Tabbed Ivy League Player of the Year; Murray Named Rookie of the Year

Farag Tabbed Ivy League Player of the Year; Murray Named Rookie of the Year

Harvard leads all Ivy schools with three selections to the all-conference team (photo courtsey: Zach Williamson).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Senior Ali Farag of the Harvard men's squash team was named Ivy League Player of the Year while freshman Dylan Murray was tabbed Ivy League Rookie of the Year. Both squash standouts were unanimously selected to the All-Ivy team. Senior co-captain Brandon McLaughlin joins Farag and Murray on the all-conference team.

The trio guided Harvard to its 31st national championship, its 36th Ancient Eight Crown and to a perfect, 18-0 overall record and 7-0 mark in the Ivy League.

Farag, who garners his third Ivy League Player of the Year honors, went 20-0 on the season, including a perfect 7-0 record in the Ivy League at the No. 1 position. The Cairo, Egypt native went on to win his second career CSA individual national championship with a 3-1 victory over St. Lawrence's Amr Khaled Khalifa in the title match. Farag was also the recipient of the 2014 Skillman Award, the highest individual honor in men's college squash.

Farag becomes just the second person in Harvard squash history to win Ivy League Player of the Year three consecutive times, and the first to accomplish the feat since Kenton Jernigan '86 did so in 1984, 1985 and 1986. Farag is the fourth person in Ivy League history to take home the award three times. He joins Mauricio Sanchez of Princeton (2007-09), Yasser El-Halaby of Princeton (2003-05) and Jernigan (1984-86).

Murray is Harvard's 12th Ivy League Rookie of the Year award recipient and first since Farag captured the honor in 2012. Harvard leads the league with its 12 rookie of the year selections. The Bronxville, N.Y., native concluded his first year in Cambridge with 13-2 at the No. 3 position, while posting a 6-1 mark in conference play.

McLaughlin earns his second All-Ivy selection after a 14-3 senior year. The Villanova, Pa., native compiled a 6-1 record in the Ivy League and completed his season in the second round of the CSA Individual Championship.


Player of the Year
Ali Farag, Harvard * (Sr. - Cairo, Egypt)

Rookie of the Year
Dylan Murray, Harvard (Fr. - Bronxville, N.Y.)

2013-14 Men's Squash All-Ivy
Blake Reinson, Brown (Sr. - Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)
Ramit Tandon, Columbia * (Jr. - Kolkata, India)
Nick Sachvie, Cornell * (Sr. - St. Catherines, Ontario, Canada)
Adita Jagtap, Cornell * (Jr. - Mumbai, India)
Ali Farag, Harvard * (Sr. - Cairo, Egypt)Brandon McLaughlin, Harvard * (Sr. - Villanova, Pa.)
Dylan Murray, Harvard * (Fr. - Bronxville, N.Y.)
Samuel Kang, Princeton * (Jr. - Singapore)
Tyler Osborne, Princeton * (Jr. - Kingston, Ontario, Canada)
Neil Martin, Yale (Sr. - Belfast, Ireland)
*denotes unanimous selection