No. 1 Harvard Men's Squash Sweeps No. 2 Trinity for Potter Cup; Farag Claims Skillman Award

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- The No. 1 Harvard men's squash team solidified itself as the best in the nation on Sunday as the Crimson captured its 31st national championship by taking down No. 2 Trinity, 9-0. Harvard claimed the 2014 Potter Cup thanks to a 3-2 win from senior captain Brandon McLaughlin on court No. 2 to put the Crimson up 5-0 over the defending national champions.

The Crimson can call itself a national champion for the first time since 1998, and the first time under Mike Way, the Gregory Lee '87 and Russell Ball '88 Endowed Coach for Squash at Harvard University. With the win, Harvard wraps up the season a perfect 18-0, after having clinched the Ivy League title a week prior.

Harvard jumped out to an early 2-0 lead behind Dylan Murray who downed Vrishab Kotian in the No. 3 position while Bryan Koh posted 3-0 win over Zeyad Elshorafy in the sixth position.

Tyler Olson extended his team's lead to three as he outlasted Matthew Mackin to earn a 3-2 victory in the ninth spot. Nigel Koh swept his opponent to give the Crimson a four-game advantage. Tom Mullaney (No. 8), Ali Farag (No. 1) and Nick Hopcroft (No. 7) each earned wins to cap off the day.

Farag was awarded the 2014 Skillman Award prior to the start of the match.  The honor is given annually to a senior men's squash player who has demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship during his entire college career. The senior is 15-0 this season in the top position for the Crimson.

With the win, the Crimson recorded its 12th shutout of the season, tying the program record for shutouts in a single season.

With team played finished, the Crimson will play individually at the CSA Individual Championships Feb. 28-March 2 in Philadelphia, Pa.

Harvard 9, Trinity 0
No. 1 Ali Farag defeated Miled Zarazua (11-1, 11-5, 11-5)
No. 2 Brandon McLaughlin defeated Karan Malik (13-11, 8-11, 8-11, 11-2, 12-10)
No. 3 Dylan Murray defeated Vrishab Kotian (13-11, 11-6, 11-7)
No. 4 Gary Power defeated Juan Vargas (11-13, 11-8, 11-5, 11-4)
No. 5 Nigel Koh defeated Elroy Leong (11-7, 11-8, 11-8)
No. 6 Bryan Koh defeated Zeyad Elshorfy (7-11, 6-11, 15-13, 13-11, 11-3)
No. 7 Nicholas Hopcroft defeated Moustafa Hamada (14-12, 11-9, 11-8)
No. 8 Tom Mullaney defeated Affeeq Ismail (11-9, 11-8, 12-10)
No. 9 Tyler Olson defeated Matthew Mackin (11-7, 8-11, 11-7, 9-11, 11-5)