Mendez Highlights Quartet of Men’s Soccer All-Ivy Honorees

Mendez Highlights Quartet of Men’s Soccer All-Ivy Honorees

Evan Mendez led all Ivy goalies with five conference wins in 2013 (Photo courtesy: Zack Williamson)

Four members of the 2013 Harvard men's soccer team have received All-Ivy League honors, the conference announced Wednesday. Sophomore goalie Evan Mendez represented the Crimson on the All-Ivy first team, while senior midfielders Ross Friedman and Kevin Harrington, and sophomore defender Mark Ashby picked up second-team honors.

Mendez had a spectacular follow-up to a strong freshman season, boasting a 6-1-1 overall record in 2013. He led all Ivy goalies with five Ancient Eight victories and an overall save percentage of .851, and ranked second with a goals-against average of 0.85. Only Mendez and Cornell keeper Zach Zagorski had goals-against averages below 1.00 this season.

Friedman put an exclamation point on his Harvard career, finishing the season with the team lead in points (12) and assists (10). Friedman's 10 assists are tied for the fifth-highest single season total in program history, and gave him 17 for his career, the 10th-best mark in team annals. He also ranked fifth in the nation in 2013 with 0.59 assists per game, and sixth in country with 10 total helpers.

Harrington had his most impactful year for the Crimson in his senior campaign, collecting a career-high eight points on three goals and two assists. He was one of just four players to start every game for Harvard, and posted the second-highest point total on the team in 2013.

Ashby, the cornerstone of the Crimson defensive unit, started all but one game in his sophomore season, and helped Harvard hold opponents to a 1.41 goals-per-game average on the year.

The four All-Ivy selections represent the most for the Crimson since 2010 when six Crimson players received all-conference honors. Harvard finished in second place in the 2013 Ivy League standings, just one point behind league champion Penn.


2013 Men's Soccer All-Ivy 

Offensive Player of the Year: Duke Lacroix, Penn (Jr., F – New Egypt, N.J.)
Defensive Player of the Year: Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Sr., D – Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Rookie of the Year: Andrew Tinari, Columbia (Fr., M – Holbrook, N.Y.)

First Team ^

Duke Lacroix, Penn (Jr., F – New Egypt, N.J.) *
Cameron Porter, Princeton (Jr., F – Centerville, Ohio) *
Thomas Sanner, Princeton (So., F – Indianapolis)

Tariq Akeel, Brown (So.,  M – Rochester Hills, Mich.)
David Najem, Columbia (Sr., M – Clifton, N.J.)
Myles McGinley, Princeton (Jr., M – Oakton, Va.)
Andrew Tinari, Columbia  (Fr., M – Holbrook, N.Y.)
Colin Heffron, Dartmouth (Jr., M – Upper Brookville, N.Y.)
Louis Schott, Penn (Jr., M – Medina, Wash.) 

Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Sr., D – Colorado Springs, Colo.) *
Colin Skelly, Dartmouth (Sr., D – Wrightstown, Pa.)
Nick Alers, Yale (Sr., D – San Jose, Costa Rica)
Jonny Dolezal, Penn (Sr., D – Wynnewood, Pa.)
Josh Miller, Princeton (So., D – Portland, Ore.)

Evan Mendez, Harvard (So., GK – Ballston Spa, N.Y.)

Second Team

William Stamatis, Columbia (Sr., F – Mountainside, N.J.)
Cameron Kirdzik, Yale (Fr., F – Flemington, N.J.)
Alec Neumann, Penn (Fr., F – New Hope, Pa.)

Kevin Harrington, Harvard (Sr., M – Pittsford, N.Y.)
Ross Friedman, Harvard (Sr., D – Bexley, Ohio)
Henos Musie, Yale (So., M – Gothenburg, Sweden)
Daniel Taylor, Brown (Jr., M – Greenwich, Conn.) 

Mark Ashby, Harvard (So., D – Denton, Texas)
Billy McGuinness, Princeton (Sr., D – LaGrange Park, Ill.)
Jake Rinow, Cornell (Sr., D – Lancaster, N.Y.)

Kyle Jackson, Columbia (So., GK – Paradise Valley, Ariz.)

Honorable Mention

Ben Williams, Cornell (Sr., M – Noblesville, Ind.)
Brian Costa, Princeton (Fr., M – Warren, N.J.)
Matt Poplawski, Penn (Fr., M – Bellevue, Wash.)
Max McKiernan, Yale (Sr., M – Louisville, Ky.)

Alex Markes, Brown (Jr., D – Valenica, Calif.)
Peter Chodas, Cornell (Jr., D – LaCanada, Calif.)
Austin Kinn, Penn (Sr., D – Sacramento, Calif.)
Phillip Piper, Yale  (So., D – The Woodlands, Texas)

Josh Weiner, Brown (Sr., GK – Armonk, N.Y.)
Zach Zagorski, Cornell (Jr., GK – Westfield, N.J.)
Tyler Kinn, Penn (Sr., D – Sacramento, Calif.)