loki/tinymce : /sports/mlax/2009-10/releases/20100305_Cohen_Tewaaraton : 20100305 Cohen Tewaaraton : cjbrpkgbqscyp0op



Cohen Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Pictured: Jeff Cohen has scored three goals in each of his first two games this season.
Photo courtesy: Gil Talbot Photography

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Sophomore attackman Jeff Cohen of the 11th-ranked Harvard men’s lacrosse team has been honored on the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, it was announced Thursday evening. Cohen is one of nine Ivy League players tabbed to the watch list.

The list is comprised of the top lacrosse players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and are the early hopefuls for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy. Watch list nominees are screened and selected by two selection committees. The selection committees are comprised of college coaches, one committee for the men and one committee for the women.

"I am excited to announce this year's watch list," said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. "The committee has done an outstanding job at selecting the top contenders across the country. This year's list represents 35 institutions, over 13 conferences encompassing students from 14 states, Canada and Australia, so if this is any indication of what is to come, I believe we are in store for an electrifying and intense season ahead."

Cohen, a native of Syosset, N.Y., is tied for the Harvard lead in goal this season with six, earning hat tricks against Canisius Feb. 27, and Georgetown March 3. The NEILA Rookie of the Year last season, Cohen garnered All-Ivy League honorable mention status after pacing the Crimson with 41 points and 34 goals, including five on man-up opportunities.

Cohen’s 34 goals last year ranks ninth on Harvard’s all-time single season list. Cohen ranked third in the Ivy League and seventh in the nation with 2.62 goals per game was stood fourth in the Ancient Eight with 3.15 points per contest.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the "Year of the Seneca".

The award will be presented on June 3 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.