Men's Ice Hockey Honors 2018-19 Team at Banquet; Fox, Krusko, Marino Named 2019-20 Captains

Men's Ice Hockey Honors 2018-19 Team at Banquet; Fox, Krusko, Marino Named 2019-20 Captains

BOSTON, Mass. – The Harvard men's ice hockey program gathered at the Harvard Club of Boston today to honor the 2018-19 team and the Harvard hockey class of 2019.

Harvard (19-11-3, 13-7-2 ECAC Hockey) earned its 25th NCAA Tournament bid (eighth among all Division I programs) and made its fifth consecutive trip to Lake Placid and the ECAC semifinals.

In addition to honoring this year's seniors and handing out team awards the Crimson named its 2019-20 captains. Rising seniors Adam Fox, Nathan Krusko and John Marino were elected by their teammates 133rd, 134th, and 135th captains 121-year history of Harvard hockey.

Senior captain Michael Floodstrand received the Ralph "Cooney" Weiland Award presented to the member or members of the Harvard varsity hockey team whose devotion to the game has repeatedly been evidenced by aggressive and spirited play and by selfless contribution to the total team effort representative of "Cooney's type of hockey player." Floodstrand was one of the top two-way players for the Crimson, recording 11 points (six goals, five assists), and leading all Harvard forwards with 26 blocked shots.

Junior Adam Fox was awarded the John Tudor Memorial Cup, awarded annually to the most valuable member of the Harvard hockey team, determined not by ability alone, but by the qualities of sportsmanship, leadership and team cooperation. Fox (nine goals, 39 assists) had a historic season for Harvard as one of the top blue liners in the nation. He was a First-Team All-American, a Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick finalist, the 2019 Walter Brown Award winner, ECAC Hockey Player of the Year, ECAC Hockey First Team and Ivy League Player of the Year selection.

Junior Frederic Gregoire earned the Donald Angier Hockey Trophy, given annually to the player showing the greatest general improvement during the year. Mr. Angier was a member of the Harvard hockey team in 1920, 1921 and 1922 and kept a keen and continued interest in the sport. Gregoire set career highs in virtually every offensive category, notching 15 points (six goals, nine assists) in 33 games with a plus-10 rating.

Freshman Jack Drury earned the George Percy Award, which is given to a member or members of the freshman class for enthusiasm, sportsmanship, team spirit and loyalty. Drury earned ECAC Hockey All-Rookie Team honors after recording 24 points (nine goals, 15 assists) in 32 games.